For a high-protein coffee-style drink, Ensure Max Protein Café Mocha is my best overall pick in this lineup, pairing 30g of protein with a familiar mocha profile. Premier Protein +Energy Café Latte is a strong alternative for shoppers who want a coffee-forward shake, while Spylt Max Chocolate stands out for its higher 140mg caffeine content. The main tradeoffs are protein amount, caffeine level, flavor style, and whether you prefer a shake, milk drink, or canned coffee format. I compare all 14 options below so you can match the drink to your caffeine needs and routine.
Get health and wellness essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- 30g protein is the lineup’s high mark: Ensure Max Protein and Premier Protein’s Coffeehouse and +Energy shakes offer more protein per drink than the 20g Spylt and Slate options.
- Caffeine amounts vary enough to affect the choice: Spylt Max Chocolate lists 140mg, while standard Spylt drinks list 60mg; check the label rather than assuming every caffeinated protein drink delivers a coffee-sized boost.
- Product format shapes the experience: Premier and Ensure are shake-style options, while Spylt and Slate offer milk-drink or canned iced-coffee formats.
- Pack size changes convenience more than the recipe: Premier’s four-, six-, and 12-pack listings give shoppers different ways to try or stock the same general drink style.
- Flavor range favors coffee and chocolate: Mocha, café latte, caramel macchiato, chocolate, and cookies and cream dominate, so buyers seeking less-sweet or non-coffee flavors may find fewer fits.
| caffeinated protein drink | Caffeine | Sugar | Calories | Pack size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ensure Max Protein Café Mocha | — | — | — | — |
| Premier Protein Coffeehouse 30 | Equivalent to one cup of coffee | — | 160 | 12 bottles |
| Spylt Cookies & Cream High Pro | — | Sugar-free | — | 12 |
| Spylt High Protein Milk Drink | — | Sugar-free | — | 12 cartons |
| Slate Milk Energy Variety Pack | Equivalent to two cups of coffee per can | — | — | — |
| Premier Protein +Energy High P | Equivalent to 1 cup of coffee | 1 g per shake | 160 per shake | 12 bottles |
| Premier Protein +Energy High P | Equivalent to 1 cup of coffee | 1 g | 160 | 12 |
| Spylt Chocolate Milk Protein S | 60 mg | Sugar-free | 90 | — |
| Premier Protein +Energy 30g Hi | Equivalent to 1 cup of coffee | 1 g per shake | 160 | 6 bottles |
| Premier Protein Coffeehouse Ca | Equivalent to 1 cup of coffee | 1 g per bottle | 160 per bottle | 12 bottles |
| Premier Protein Coffeehouse Mo | Equivalent to 1 cup of coffee | 1 g | 160 | 12 bottles |
| Spylt Max Chocolate Milk Prote | 140 mg per can | Sugar-free | 90 per can | — |
| Premier Protein Coffeehouse 30 | Equivalent to 1 cup of coffee | 1 g | 160 | 4 bottles |
| Premier Protein Coffeehouse Pr | Equivalent to 1 cup of coffee | 1 g | 160 | 4 bottles |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Ensure Max Protein Café Mocha Shake – 30g High Protein, 12-Pack
I’d put Ensure Max Protein near the top for buyers who want a substantial protein serving alongside a moderate coffee-like caffeine boost. Each shake supplies 30g of protein, 100mg of caffeine, and just 1g of sugar, while 4g of fiber and 25 essential nutrients make it more of an all-in-one snack than a simple coffee drink. Compared with Spylt Cookies & Cream, Ensure offers more protein and caffeine, but Spylt has fewer calories at 90 per serving and is explicitly lactose-free. Ensure is described as suitable for people with lactose intolerance, though that is not the same as being lactose-free for every dietary need. The tradeoff is its mocha flavor and caffeine, which may not suit everyone or late-day drinking; it is also not safe for people with galactosemia.
Pros:- 30g protein per serving provides more protein than the Spylt 20g drinks in this lineup.
- Only 1g sugar per serving.
- Includes 4g fiber with a prebiotic and 25 essential vitamins and minerals.
- 100mg caffeine offers a clearly stated, moderate coffee-style boost.
Cons:- Caffeine may be unsuitable for stimulant-sensitive buyers or late-day use.
- Mocha flavor may not appeal to people who prefer neutral or fruit flavors.
- Not safe for individuals with galactosemia.
Best for: Adults seeking a filling, low-sugar mocha shake with 30g of protein, fiber, and a coffee-sized caffeine lift.
Not ideal for: People with galactosemia, those avoiding caffeine, or shoppers who need a specifically lactose-free product.
- Protein per serving:30g
- Sugar per serving:1g
- Fiber per serving:4g
- Caffeine per serving:100mg
- Vitamins and minerals:25 essential nutrients
- Servings per pack:12
- Gluten-free:Yes
- Suitable for lactose intolerance:Yes
Our verdict“Choose Ensure Max Protein if you want 30g of protein, fiber, and 100mg of caffeine in a low-sugar mocha shake.”
Premier Protein Coffeehouse 30g Protein Shake, Mocha, 12-Pack
For a ready-to-drink option that pairs a 30g protein serving with coffee-equivalent caffeine, Premier Protein Coffeehouse Mocha is a straightforward pick. It has 1g of sugar, 160 calories, and 24 vitamins and minerals, so it suits buyers who want a portable shake rather than a separate coffee and protein drink. Compared with Ensure Max Protein Café Mocha, it also provides 30g of protein and 1g of sugar, but Ensure specifies 100mg of caffeine and includes 4g of fiber; Premier states caffeine as equivalent to a cup of coffee without giving a milligram amount here. The six-flavor Spylt variety pack offers more flavor exploration and fewer calories per carton, but has 20g of protein rather than 30g. Premier’s dairy proteins rule it out for vegans, and caffeine remains a poor fit for stimulant avoiders.
Pros:- 30g protein per bottle.
- Low-sugar formula with 1g of sugar.
- 160 calories and 24 vitamins and minerals are specified.
- Ready-to-drink bottle format is convenient for commuting or post-workout use.
Cons:- Contains dairy proteins and is not suitable for vegans.
- Caffeine amount is described as a cup-of-coffee equivalent rather than a specific milligram figure.
- Provides no stated fiber content, unlike Ensure Max Protein Café Mocha.
Best for: Commuters and workout-focused buyers who want a mocha protein shake with 30g of protein in a portable bottle.
Not ideal for: Vegans, people avoiding dairy proteins, or caffeine-sensitive buyers who need a stimulant-free drink.
- Flavor:Mocha
- Protein per serving:30g
- Sugar per serving:1g
- Caffeine:Equivalent to one cup of coffee
- Calories:160
- Vitamins and minerals:24
- Carbohydrates:3–6g, depending on flavor
- Pack size:12 bottles
- Gluten-free:Yes
Our verdict“Pick Premier Protein Coffeehouse Mocha for a portable 30g-protein coffee shake, but choose Ensure if you want a stated caffeine amount and added fiber.”
Spylt Cookies & Cream High Protein Milk with Caffeine – 12 Count
Spylt Cookies & Cream is the lower-calorie, lighter-caffeine alternative for buyers who want protein without a full coffee-strength boost. Each carton has 20g of protein, 60mg of caffeine, and 90 calories, and the sugar-free, lactose-free formula can suit shoppers who avoid lactose or added sugar. Compared with Slate Milk Energy, Spylt supplies less caffeine—the Slate pack is described as equivalent to two cups of coffee—but also lists a lower, specific 60mg amount that may be easier to fit into an afternoon routine. It also has 10g less protein than Ensure Max Protein, so buyers prioritizing a larger protein serving may prefer Ensure or Premier. The Cookies & Cream flavor gives this pick a dessert-style profile, though the flavor range is limited and caffeine still makes it unsuitable for stimulant-free diets.
Pros:- Provides 20g protein in a 90-calorie serving.
- 60mg caffeine is a lower stated amount than the coffee-equivalent boost in Slate Milk Energy.
- Sugar-free and lactose-free.
- Shelf-stable format can be kept on hand without refrigeration.
Cons:- Has 10g less protein per serving than Ensure Max Protein and Premier Protein Coffeehouse.
- Cookies & Cream is the stated flavor, with limited flavor choice in this product.
- Still contains caffeine, so it does not suit people avoiding stimulants.
Best for: Lactose-avoiding buyers who want a sugar-free, 90-calorie protein drink with a smaller caffeine serving.
Not ideal for: People seeking 30g of protein per drink, a broad choice of flavors, or a caffeine-free beverage.
- Flavor:Cookies & Cream
- Protein per serving:20g
- Caffeine per serving:60mg
- Calories per serving:90
- Sugar:Sugar-free
- Lactose:Lactose-free
- Dietary feature:Keto-friendly
- Storage:Shelf-stable
- Pack size:12
Our verdict“Choose Spylt Cookies & Cream when lactose-free, sugar-free nutrition and a modest 60mg caffeine serving matter more than maximum protein.”
Spylt High Protein Milk Drink Variety Pack, 20g Protein, 60mg Caffeine
I’d choose this Spylt variety pack over the single-flavor Cookies & Cream pack if rotating flavors matters more than sticking to one familiar option. The 12 cartons span six flavors, with each carton providing 20g of protein, 90 calories, and 60mg of caffeine. That consistent serving makes it easier to know what you’re getting from carton to carton, while the sugar-free, lactose-free formula matches the single-flavor Spylt’s dietary profile. Compared with Ensure Max Protein Café Mocha, this pack has 10g less protein per carton but a lower stated caffeine amount and a wider flavor mix. The limitation is that the specific flavors are not identified in the supplied product details, so buyers cannot judge the assortment before choosing. It is also not the best fit for anyone avoiding caffeine or wanting 30g of protein per drink.
Pros:- Six flavors provide more variety than the Cookies & Cream single-flavor Spylt pack.
- Each carton has 20g protein and 90 calories.
- Sugar-free and lactose-free.
- Ready-to-drink cartons require no preparation.
Cons:- The individual flavors are not specified in the product details.
- 20g protein per carton is below the 30g offered by Ensure and Premier options.
- Contains caffeine, which may not suit stimulant-sensitive buyers.
Best for: Lactose-free households or regular protein-drink buyers who want several flavors and a consistent 60mg caffeine serving.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need named flavor options before purchasing, want 30g of protein per carton, or avoid caffeine.
- Protein per carton:20g
- Calories per carton:90
- Caffeine per carton:60mg
- Pack size:12 cartons
- Flavor variety:6 flavors
- Sugar:Sugar-free
- Lactose:Lactose-free
- Format:Ready-to-drink
Our verdict“Pick the Spylt variety pack if you want lactose-free, sugar-free drinks in six flavors and accept 20g of protein per carton.”
Slate Milk Energy Variety Pack 20g High Protein Iced Coffee (12 Cans)
Slate Milk Energy is the choice here for shoppers who want their protein drink to function more like a substantial iced coffee. Each can contains 20g of protein and 1g of sugar, with caffeine described as equivalent to two cups of coffee. Its three latte flavors—Mocha, Caramel, and Vanilla—also give it a more explicitly coffee-centered range than Spylt’s six-flavor variety pack, whose flavor names are not provided. The tradeoff is that Slate’s caffeine amount is much stronger as described than the 60mg in either Spylt option, so it may be a poor choice for late-day sipping or caffeine-sensitive buyers. It also provides 10g less protein than Ensure Max Protein Café Mocha and Premier Coffeehouse. Shelf-stable cans add convenience, but the product details note it may be less creamy than a traditional milk drink.
Pros:- Three named latte flavors: Mocha, Caramel, and Vanilla.
- 20g protein and 1g sugar per can.
- Caffeine is described as equivalent to two cups of coffee per can.
- Shelf-stable cans do not require refrigeration.
Cons:- The two-cup coffee-equivalent caffeine may be too much for sensitive buyers or late-day use.
- Provides 10g less protein than Ensure Max Protein and Premier Coffeehouse options.
- May be less creamy than traditional milk drinks.
Best for: Coffee drinkers who want a shelf-stable iced latte with 20g of protein, three latte flavors, and a stronger caffeine lift.
Not ideal for: People sensitive to caffeine, those seeking a lighter afternoon boost, or buyers whose priority is 30g of protein per serving.
- Flavors:Mocha Latte, Caramel Latte, Vanilla Latte
- Protein per can:20g
- Sugar per can:1g
- Caffeine:Equivalent to two cups of coffee per can
- Package quantity:12 cans
- Refrigeration:Not required
- Milk processing:Ultrafiltered milk
- Lactose:Lactose-free
Our verdict“Choose Slate Milk Energy if you want an iced-coffee-style drink with a stronger caffeine lift, but pick Spylt for a lower stated caffeine serving.”
Premier Protein +Energy High Protein Shake, Café Latte, 30g Protein, 12 Pack
I’d put this Café Latte shake first for buyers who want coffee-level caffeine alongside a substantial protein serving in one ready-to-drink bottle. Its 30g of protein is more than Spylt Chocolate Milk Protein Shakes’ 20g, while the caffeine is described as equivalent to a cup of coffee rather than listed as a milligram amount. That makes it a practical breakfast or post-workout choice, though buyers who track caffeine precisely may prefer a product with a stated dose. Each bottle also provides 24 vitamins and minerals at 160 calories and 1g of sugar. The tradeoff is dairy-based milk protein, and its coffee flavor has less variety than the roundup’s caramel macchiato option. I’d choose it for protein first, with caffeine as a useful extra.
Pros:- Provides 30g of protein per bottle
- Caffeine equivalent to one cup of coffee
- Includes 24 vitamins and minerals
- Ready-to-drink 11.5 oz bottles suit busy mornings
Cons:- Contains milk protein, so it is not suitable for dairy-free diets
- Caffeine is described by coffee equivalence rather than an exact milligram figure
- Café latte is the only flavor specified for this pack
Best for: People who want a portable coffee-flavored shake with 30g of protein for breakfast or after a workout
Not ideal for: People avoiding dairy or those who need caffeine listed as an exact milligram amount
- Flavor:Café Latte
- Pack size:12 bottles
- Bottle size:11.5 oz
- Protein:30 g per shake
- Sugar:1 g per shake
- Calories:160 per shake
- Caffeine:Equivalent to 1 cup of coffee
- Vitamins and minerals:24
- Gluten-free:Yes
Our verdict“Choose this as a balanced everyday pick if you want 30g of protein and coffee-equivalent caffeine in one bottle and can have dairy.”
Premier Protein +Energy High Protein Shake, Café Latte, 30g Protein, 12 Pack
This version suits shoppers who are comparing nutrition details closely: its listing specifies 3–5g of carbohydrates, depending on flavor, alongside 1g of sugar and 160 calories. The café latte flavor and 30g protein profile put it near the first Premier Protein +Energy pick, but the added dietary details make this listing more useful for buyers checking low-carb compatibility. It also states that the protein includes all essential amino acids and that the shake is low fat, gluten free, and keto and bariatric friendly. Those labels don’t make it a fit for every eating plan, and the carbohydrate range is not a single fixed value for all flavors. Like the other Premier options here, caffeine is given as coffee-equivalent rather than an exact dose. Compared with Spylt’s 60mg listing, this is a less precise caffeine choice.
Pros:- Provides 30g of protein with all essential amino acids
- Lists 1g of sugar and a 3–5g carbohydrate range
- Caffeine equivalent to one cup of coffee
- Described as low fat, gluten free, keto and bariatric friendly
Cons:- Carbohydrates vary by flavor, so the range may not answer exact tracking needs
- Caffeine is not specified in milligrams
- Café latte flavor contains caffeine, which may not suit caffeine-sensitive buyers
Best for: Low-carb or keto-minded shoppers who want a 30g protein shake with coffee-equivalent caffeine and disclosed carbohydrate details
Not ideal for: People who need an exact caffeine dose or a fixed carbohydrate figure for the specific bottle they are buying
- Flavor:Café Latte
- Pack size:12
- Serving size:11 oz
- Protein:30 g
- Sugar:1 g
- Carbohydrates:3–5 g, depending on flavor
- Calories:160
- Caffeine:Equivalent to 1 cup of coffee
- Dietary features:Low fat, gluten free, keto and bariatric friendly
Our verdict“Pick this listing if low-carb and dietary-plan details matter as much as its 30g protein and coffee-style caffeine.”
Spylt Chocolate Milk Protein Shakes, 20g Protein, 60mg Caffeine, 12 Pack
Spylt stands apart from the Premier Protein shakes by pairing 20g of protein with a clearly stated 60mg of caffeine and a lactose-free chocolate-milk format. That lower protein amount may be enough for a snack or a modest recovery drink, but it trails the 30g servings in the Premier café latte and caramel macchiato options. Its 90 calories and sugar-free profile make it the lighter choice in this group, while the named caffeine amount helps buyers compare intake more directly than coffee-equivalent descriptions do. The tradeoff is that the listing names only chocolate, so flavor choice appears limited here, and caffeine still rules it out for anyone avoiding stimulants. I’d favor Spylt when lactose-free convenience and a defined caffeine figure matter more than maximizing protein per can.
Pros:- Provides 20g of protein per can
- Lists caffeine as 60mg per can
- Sugar-free and lactose-free
- 90 calories per can
Cons:- Provides less protein than the 30g Premier Protein options
- Only chocolate flavor is specified for this pack
- Contains caffeine, which may not suit sensitive drinkers
Best for: Lactose-avoiding shoppers who want a chocolate protein drink with a stated caffeine amount and fewer calories
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking 30g of protein per serving, or anyone who avoids caffeine
- Protein:20 g
- Caffeine:60 mg
- Calories:90
- Quantity:12 cans
- Flavor:Chocolate
- Sugar:Sugar-free
- Lactose:Lactose-free
- Gluten:Gluten-free
Our verdict“Choose Spylt if you prefer a lactose-free, lower-calorie chocolate drink with a clearly stated 60mg caffeine amount over a larger protein serving.”
Premier Protein +Energy 30g High Protein Shake, Café Latte, 6 Pack
The six-bottle format makes this a useful way to try Premier Protein +Energy without committing to the 12-pack version. The drink itself keeps the same central appeal: 30g of protein, 160 calories, 1g of sugar, and caffeine equivalent to a cup of coffee. Compared with Spylt Chocolate Milk Protein Shakes, it delivers more protein but doesn’t disclose caffeine in milligrams and contains dairy-based milk protein. It also includes 24 vitamins and minerals, giving it a broader nutrition profile than a simple caffeinated protein drink. The smaller pack is a packaging advantage, not a different formula, so buyers who already know they want a larger supply may prefer the 12-bottle Premier Café Latte pack. I’d pick this version for sampling, a short trip, or a smaller household.
Pros:- Six-bottle pack offers a smaller commitment than the 12-pack version
- Provides 30g of protein per shake
- Includes 24 vitamins and minerals
- Has 1g of sugar and 160 calories per bottle
Cons:- Contains dairy-based milk protein
- Caffeine amount is described by coffee equivalence, not milligrams
- Provides fewer bottles than the matching 12-pack option
Best for: First-time buyers or small households who want to try a 30g coffee-flavored protein shake in a six-bottle pack
Not ideal for: Regular drinkers who want a larger multipack, or people avoiding dairy and caffeine
- Flavor:Café Latte
- Pack size:6 bottles
- Serving size:11.5 oz
- Protein:30 g per shake
- Sugar:1 g per shake
- Carbohydrates:3–5 g per shake, depending on flavor
- Calories:160
- Caffeine:Equivalent to 1 cup of coffee
- Vitamins and minerals:24 essential vitamins and minerals
Our verdict“Choose the six-pack to sample Premier’s 30g Café Latte formula or stock a smaller household without changing to a lower-protein drink.”
Premier Protein Coffeehouse Caramel Macchiato Protein Shake, 30g Protein, 12 Pack
For buyers who like the Premier Protein +Energy nutrition profile but want a sweeter-sounding coffeehouse option, this Caramel Macchiato shake offers a flavor change from the Café Latte bottles. It keeps the lineup’s familiar combination of 30g of protein, caffeine equivalent to one cup of coffee, 1g of sugar, 160 calories, and 24 vitamins and minerals. Compared with Spylt’s chocolate drink, this is the stronger pick for protein per bottle; compared with Premier’s Café Latte, its main distinction is flavor rather than a different stated caffeine or protein level. The listing does not give caffeine in milligrams, and the drink contains caffeine that may not suit every buyer. I’d choose it for variety within a high-protein coffee-style routine, not for a lower-calorie or dairy-free alternative.
Pros:- Provides 30g of protein per bottle
- Caramel macchiato flavor offers an alternative to Café Latte
- Contains caffeine equivalent to one cup of coffee
- Includes 24 vitamins and minerals with 1g of sugar
Cons:- Caffeine is not listed as an exact milligram amount
- Contains caffeine, which may not suit sensitive drinkers
- The supplied details do not specify carbohydrate content
Best for: Premier Protein fans who want a caramel macchiato flavor with 30g of protein and coffee-equivalent caffeine
Not ideal for: People avoiding dairy or caffeine, or shoppers who need an exact caffeine amount in milligrams
- Flavor:Caramel Macchiato
- Protein:30 g per bottle
- Sugar:1 g per bottle
- Calories:160 per bottle
- Caffeine:Equivalent to 1 cup of coffee
- Vitamins and minerals:24
- Pack size:12 bottles
- Gluten-free:Yes
Our verdict“Choose this when caramel macchiato flavor matters more than a precisely stated caffeine dose or a dairy-free formula.”
Premier Protein Coffeehouse Mocha Shake – 30g Protein, No Added Sugar, 24 Vitamins & Minerals, 11 fl oz (12 Pack)
I’d put this Mocha 12-pack first for shoppers who want a coffee-style drink with a substantial protein serving: it pairs 30g of protein with caffeine comparable to a cup of coffee. At 160 calories and 1g of sugar, it offers more protein per bottle than Spylt Max Chocolate Milk Protein Drink, though Spylt has a stated 140mg caffeine dose and fewer calories. The 24 vitamins and minerals add breadth that the Spylt listing doesn’t specify, while the ready-to-drink 11-ounce bottle suits a rushed breakfast or post-workout stop. The tradeoff is that “equivalent to a cup of coffee” is less precise than a milligram amount, and the mocha flavor and caffeine may not suit everyone, especially late in the day. I’d choose it for protein first, not for a precisely measured caffeine hit.
Pros:- 30g of protein per bottle
- Only 1g of sugar and 160 calories
- Caffeine comparable to a cup of coffee
- Includes 24 vitamins and minerals
Cons:- Caffeine amount is described by coffee equivalence rather than milligrams
- Mocha flavor may not appeal to people seeking more flavor choices
- Not a good fit for caffeine-sensitive drinkers or late-day use
Best for: Busy adults who want a portable mocha drink with 30g of protein and coffee-level caffeine for breakfast or after exercise.
Not ideal for: People sensitive to caffeine, those avoiding dairy, or shoppers who want a specific caffeine amount in milligrams.
- Protein:30 g
- Calories:160
- Sugar:1 g
- Carbohydrates:3–6 g, depending on flavor
- Caffeine:Equivalent to 1 cup of coffee
- Bottle size:11 fl oz
- Pack size:12 bottles
- Vitamins and minerals:24
- Gluten-free:Yes
Our verdict“Choose this 12-pack if you want a filling, low-sugar mocha with more protein than Spylt Max and don’t need caffeine listed in milligrams.”
Spylt Max Chocolate Milk Protein Drink, 20g Protein, 140mg Caffeine, 12 Cans
140mg of caffeine per can makes Spylt Max the clearest pick here for shoppers who want a stated caffeine dose rather than a coffee comparison. It provides 20g of protein in 90 calories, which is lighter than either Premier Protein Coffeehouse option, each listed at 30g of protein and 160 calories. That tradeoff can suit someone prioritizing a lower-calorie drink and a defined stimulant amount over a larger protein serving. The sugar-free, lactose-free formulation also separates it from Premier’s milk-protein shakes, though the listing doesn’t specify a protein source or vitamin content. Its chocolate flavor and 12-can case keep the choice simple, but offer less flavor variety than a multi-flavor pack. I’d skip it if 140mg is more caffeine than you want or if you need 30g of protein from one drink.
Pros:- Caffeine is specified at 140mg per can
- 20g of protein for 90 calories
- Sugar-free and lactose-free
- Ready to drink with no preparation
Cons:- Contains a substantial caffeine dose that may not suit sensitive drinkers
- Provides 10g less protein than the Premier Coffeehouse shakes
- Case is limited to chocolate flavor
Best for: Caffeine-conscious shoppers who want the dose stated in milligrams, a lactose-free chocolate drink, and a lower-calorie option.
Not ideal for: People seeking 30g of protein per drink, avoiding stimulants, or wanting several flavors in one case.
- Protein:20 g per can
- Calories:90 per can
- Caffeine:140 mg per can
- Sugar:Sugar-free
- Lactose:Lactose-free
- Flavor:Chocolate
- Package:12 cans
Our verdict“Pick Spylt Max if a defined 140mg caffeine dose and lactose-free formula matter more to you than getting 30g of protein.”
Premier Protein Coffeehouse 30g Protein Shake, Mocha, 4-Pack
This four-bottle Mocha pack makes sense for someone who wants Premier Coffeehouse’s 30g protein formula without committing to the 12-bottle case. The nutrition profile matches the larger Premier Protein Coffeehouse Mocha 12-pack: 160 calories, 1g of sugar, coffee-equivalent caffeine, and 24 vitamins and minerals. The meaningful difference is package size, not formulation, so I’d favor this one for trying the flavor, stocking a smaller household, or carrying a few bottles on busy days. Compared with Spylt Max, it delivers 10g more protein but gives caffeine as a coffee comparison rather than a milligram figure. Its drawbacks are the same formula-specific limits: dairy protein excludes some diets, and the caffeine may be unwelcome later in the day. This is a sensible trial-size pick, not a distinct nutritional upgrade.
Pros:- 30g of protein per bottle
- 1g of sugar and 160 calories
- Smaller four-bottle pack lowers the commitment to one flavor
- Includes 24 vitamins and minerals
Cons:- Caffeine amount is not stated in milligrams
- Contains dairy proteins
- Only mocha is listed, with no flavor variety in the pack
Best for: First-time buyers and smaller households who want to try Premier’s mocha protein-and-coffee combination before buying a larger case.
Not ideal for: People who already know they want a larger supply, need a caffeine amount in milligrams, or avoid dairy.
- Protein:30 g
- Caffeine:Equivalent to 1 cup of coffee
- Sugar:1 g
- Carbohydrates:3–6 g, depending on flavor
- Calories:160
- Vitamins and minerals:24
- Gluten-free:Yes
- Pack size:4 bottles
- Flavor:Mocha
Our verdict“Choose the four-pack to try Premier Coffeehouse Mocha or keep a small supply on hand; the 12-pack has the same listed formula for shoppers wanting more bottles.”
Premier Protein Coffeehouse Protein Shake, Caramel Macchiato, 4 Pack
For shoppers who want Premier’s 30g protein and coffee-equivalent caffeine but prefer caramel to mocha, this four-pack offers a clear flavor-led alternative. Its listed nutrition matches the Premier Protein Coffeehouse Mocha 4-Pack: 160 calories, 1g of sugar, 3–6g of carbohydrates, and 24 vitamins and minerals. That means the choice between these two small packs is mainly about flavor; the provided data doesn’t establish a nutritional advantage for caramel. Like the mocha version, it delivers more protein per bottle than Spylt Max, while Spylt states caffeine in milligrams and is lactose-free. This shake is gluten-free but contains milk ingredients, so it won’t work for dairy-free buyers. I’d choose it for a caramel coffee profile and a small pack, while skipping it if you need exact caffeine disclosure or broader flavor options.
Pros:- 30g of protein per bottle
- 1g of sugar and 160 calories
- Caramel Macchiato offers an alternative to the mocha packs
- Includes 24 vitamins and minerals and is gluten-free
Cons:- Contains milk ingredients, so it is not dairy-free
- Caffeine is described as coffee-equivalent rather than measured in milligrams
- Four-pack offers only one flavor
Best for: Caramel-coffee fans who want a small supply of high-protein, ready-to-drink shakes for breakfast, snacks, or post-workout use.
Not ideal for: Dairy-free shoppers, caffeine-sensitive drinkers, or buyers who want caffeine quantified in milligrams.
- Protein:30 g
- Sugar:1 g
- Carbohydrates:3–6 g
- Calories:160
- Caffeine:Equivalent to 1 cup of coffee
- Vitamins and minerals:24
- Dietary:Gluten-free
- Protein source:Milk protein concentrate, calcium caseinate
- Pack size:4 bottles
Our verdict“Pick this four-pack over the mocha version if caramel is your preferred coffee flavor and you’re comfortable with dairy and coffee-level caffeine.”
How We Picked
I compared the 14 listed options on the factors that most affect a buying decision: protein per serving, stated caffeine, drink style, flavor choice, and pack format. I gave extra weight to products with clear, useful distinctions—such as higher protein or caffeine, or a format that serves a different preference—rather than treating duplicate pack sizes as separate breakthroughs.
The ranking favors drinks that balance a meaningful protein serving with a clear use case and accessible flavor or format. Ensure Max Protein Café Mocha leads as a straightforward 30g-protein option; Premier +Energy follows for shoppers prioritizing a latte-style shake, while Spylt Max Chocolate earns a distinct place for its higher stated caffeine. Lower-ranked entries can still suit specific tastes or trial needs, but close variants and smaller packs offer less differentiation from the leading choices. I did not infer caffeine amounts where they were not specified in the supplied product names; buyers should check current packaging for full nutrition details.
| caffeinated protein drink | Flavor |
|---|---|
| Ensure Max Protein Café Mocha | — |
| Premier Protein Coffeehouse 30 | Mocha |
| Spylt Cookies & Cream High Pro | Cookies & Cream |
| Spylt High Protein Milk Drink | — |
| Slate Milk Energy Variety Pack | — |
| Premier Protein +Energy High P | Café Latte |
| Premier Protein +Energy High P | Café Latte |
| Spylt Chocolate Milk Protein S | Chocolate |
| Premier Protein +Energy 30g Hi | Café Latte |
| Premier Protein Coffeehouse Ca | Caramel Macchiato |
| Premier Protein Coffeehouse Mo | — |
| Spylt Max Chocolate Milk Prote | Chocolate |
| Premier Protein Coffeehouse 30 | Mocha |
| Premier Protein Coffeehouse Pr | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Caffeinated Protein Drinks
Choosing a caffeinated protein drink is not just a matter of picking a flavor. I would start by deciding how much caffeine and protein you actually want, then weigh the drink format, ingredient information, and pack size against when you plan to use it.
Match Caffeine to Your Usual Routine
Do not assume that a protein drink has as much caffeine as a cup of coffee simply because it has a coffee flavor. The listed Spylt drinks show why checking the label matters: standard varieties are identified with 60mg, while Spylt Max Chocolate lists 140mg. Think about the caffeine you already get from coffee, tea, or energy drinks before adding another source. A higher-caffeine option may fit a longer morning or workout window, but it can be a poor match for late-day use or anyone limiting caffeine. If the label does not state an amount clearly, verify the current package rather than guessing from the product name.
Set a Protein Target That Fits the Occasion
The 30g shakes from Ensure and Premier give more protein per container than the 20g drinks from Spylt and Slate. That difference can matter if the drink is meant to stand in for a substantial snack or help meet a daily protein target. It may matter less if you are pairing it with a meal or simply want a smaller protein contribution alongside caffeine. Avoid treating the highest number as automatically best: serving size, your overall diet, and how filling you want the drink to be all affect the choice. Compare the complete nutrition label, not protein alone, when deciding what fits your day.
Choose a Drink Style You Will Actually Want to Finish
Coffeehouse shakes, chocolate milk-style drinks, and canned iced coffee can feel quite different even when all include protein and caffeine. A mocha or caramel macchiato profile suits shoppers who want a familiar flavored shake, while chocolate and cookies-and-cream options move away from a straight coffee taste. Format also affects how you might use the drink: a canned iced-coffee style may appeal as a chilled grab-and-go option, while a shake can feel more like a protein snack. If you dislike sweet, creamy drinks, read the flavor and ingredient details closely before buying a large pack. Flavor names alone do not tell you how sweet or rich a drink will taste.
Read the Full Label, Not Just the Front
Front-of-package protein and caffeine figures answer only part of the decision. Check serving size, sugar and sweetener details, calories, allergens, and any dietary needs that matter to you. Claims such as no added sugar do not automatically mean a product has no carbohydrates or suits every eating plan. Caffeine can also appear in different amounts across products from the same brand, so do not transfer one variety’s figure to another. When a nutrient or ingredient is a deciding factor, the current package label is more dependable than assumptions based on a neighboring flavor.
Use Pack Size as a Trial Decision
The lineup includes Premier varieties in four-, six-, and 12-pack listings, alongside larger multi-drink packs from other brands. A smaller pack can be a sensible way to find out whether a flavor and sweetness level work for you before keeping it in regular rotation. Larger packs may suit a proven favorite, but they magnify the downside of a flavor mismatch. Also check whether a listing is a distinct recipe or simply a different pack size; a larger count does not necessarily mean a different drink. Compare the per-container nutrition and format first, then choose a quantity that suits your storage space and consumption habits.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which drink in this lineup has the most listed caffeine?
Spylt Max Chocolate is the option here with the highest stated amount at 140mg per drink. Standard Spylt drinks in the list are identified with 60mg, so the brand name alone does not tell you the caffeine level. The supplied product names do not provide caffeine figures for every Premier, Ensure, or Slate option. Check the current package label before comparing those drinks or combining one with other caffeine sources.
Should I choose a 30g protein shake or a 20g protein drink?
Choose based on how much protein you want from the drink and what else you will eat, rather than assuming the larger amount is always better. Ensure and Premier offer several 30g options, while Spylt and Slate include 20g drinks. A 30g shake may make more sense as a filling snack or a larger contribution to your daily target; 20g can be enough when the drink accompanies food. Check serving size and the rest of the nutrition panel, then match the choice to your own needs.
Are the four-, six-, and 12-pack Premier options different drinks?
The listed Premier four-, six-, and 12-packs include overlapping flavor and product names, so pack count alone does not indicate a different recipe. The 12-pack listings are suited to stocking a familiar option, while smaller packs can help limit commitment when you are trying a flavor. Compare the exact product name, flavor, container details, and nutrition information before choosing. Do not assume that caffeine or other nutrition figures are identical across every Premier variety just because the packaging looks related.
Can I use one of these drinks before a workout?
It may fit your routine if the drink’s caffeine amount, protein, and timing suit you, but the lineup does not make every product interchangeable as a pre-workout choice. Start by checking the stated caffeine and your tolerance, especially if you also use coffee or another caffeinated product. Consider whether a creamy shake feels comfortable before exercise and leave enough time to see how it sits with you. If you need specific workout nutrition or have a health condition affected by caffeine, use professional guidance rather than relying on a product name.
How can I tell whether a caffeinated protein drink fits my dietary needs?
Read the current ingredient and nutrition labels for the exact flavor and pack you plan to buy. Protein drinks can differ in allergens, sweeteners, sugar, calories, and other ingredients even when they share a brand or product family. A no-added-sugar claim, for example, does not answer every question about carbohydrates or suitability for a particular diet. If you have an allergy or need to limit a specific ingredient, check the full label and contact the manufacturer if any detail is unclear.
Conclusion
Best overall: I would start with Ensure Max Protein Café Mocha for a straightforward 30g-protein coffee-style shake. Best for a latte-style drink: Premier Protein +Energy Café Latte suits shoppers who want a familiar coffeehouse profile, while best for more caffeine: Spylt Max Chocolate is the clear pick among options with stated caffeine amounts. For a different format, Slate’s canned iced coffee and Spylt’s milk-style drinks are alternatives to the shake-heavy Premier and Ensure lineup. Best for beginners: choose a smaller Premier pack to sample a flavor before committing to a larger count; best value approach: once you know your preferred flavor and caffeine level, choose the pack size that fits your routine. My recommendation is to decide on caffeine first, then choose the protein amount and flavor you are most likely to finish.
Cold & flu season Picks
humidifiers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.














