Vegan omega-3 supplements use algae or other plant sources instead of fish, but their DHA and EPA amounts, serving sizes, and added ingredients vary widely. Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 is my best overall pick for its stated 1,210 mg of EPA+DHA per serving; Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega 3 stands out for its 240-count bottle, while Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 offers another clearly labeled high-strength option. The main tradeoffs are how much DHA and EPA you get per serving, how many softgels you take, and whether you want a focused algae-oil formula or extras such as vitamins or other fatty acids. Some labels give more specific potency information than others, so comparing the actual Supplement Facts matters more than relying on “omega-3” on the front of the bottle. Read on for the full breakdown and a guide to choosing a formula that fits your needs.
Get health and wellness essentials delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Key Takeaways
- Nordic Naturals leads on stated potency: its 1,210 mg EPA+DHA claim gives buyers a clearer high-dose reference point than products whose titles do not state amounts.
- Sports Research is another strength-focused choice: its stated 1,020 mg makes it easier to compare against the Nordic Naturals formula, though serving directions still matter.
- Micro Ingredients separates itself by bottle count: 240 softgels may suit buyers who want fewer repurchases, but count alone does not reveal how much EPA and DHA each serving provides.
- Several listings offer similar algae-based basics: when product titles leave potency or serving details unclear, the Supplement Facts label should decide between them.
- Combo formulas serve a different purpose: options with omega-6, omega-9, CoQ10, or vitamins may appeal to buyers seeking added ingredients, but they are less direct choices for shoppers focused only on DHA and EPA.
| Vegan Omega 3 Supplement – Plant-Based DHA & EPA Fatty Acids – Carrageenan Free – Supports Heart, Brain, and Joint Health – 60 Softgels | ![]() | Best for a One-Softgel Serving | Serving size: 1 softgel | Total omega-3s: 550 mg per serving | DHA: 300 mg per serving | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega 3 Algae Oil Softgels (240 Count) | ![]() | Best for a Large Bottle and Broader Omega Profile | Bottle count: 240 veggie softgels | Serving size: 3 softgels | Algal oil: 1,250 mg per serving | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Vegan Omega 3 Algae Oil Supplement, 120 Veggie Softgels | ![]() | Best for a Mid-Size DHA, DPA, and ALA Supply | Bottle count: 120 veggie softgels | Servings: 40 | Serving size: 3 softgels | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Freshfield Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil – Plant-Based DHA Supplement, Fish Oil Free, Lemon Scent | ![]() | Best for Flexible Serving Size and Low-Waste Packaging | Source: Microalgae | DHA: 225 mg per softgel | DPA: 35 mg per softgel | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Vegan Omega 3 Supplement, Algae Oil, EPA DHA – 120 Count | ![]() | Best for a Simple Two-Capsule Routine | Serving size: 2 vegan capsules | Total EPA/DHA/DPA: 510 mg per serving | Bottle count: 120 capsules | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Vegan Omega 3 Algae Oil, Plant Based DHA EPA, Sustainably Sourced, Non-GMO | ![]() | Best for Quality-Focused Shoppers | Omega-3 source: Algae | DHA and EPA: Both included; amounts not specified | GMO status: Non-GMO | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Vegan Omega 3 Supplement – Plant Based DHA & EPA Fatty Acids – Carrageenan Free, Algae-Based, Supports Heart, Brain, Joint Health – 180 Softgels | ![]() | Best for Clearly Listed Daily DHA and EPA | Omega-3 source: Algae | Omega-3 content: 550 mg per serving | DHA: 300 mg per serving | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil, Plant-Based DHA EPA, Sustainably Sourced, Non-GMO | ![]() | Best for Minimalist Label Preferences | Omega-3 source: Algae oil | DHA and EPA: Both included; amounts not specified | Sourcing: Sustainably sourced | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3, Algae-Based – 1210mg EPA+DHA – 60 Soft Gels | ![]() | Best for a Concentrated EPA+DHA Serving | Omega-3 source: Algae | EPA+DHA: 1,210 mg per serving | Count: 60 softgels | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil 1020mg, 60 Count Plantgels | ![]() | Best for Plant-Based Softgel Materials | Omega-3 source: Algae oil | Omega-3 content: 1,020 mg per serving | Serving size: Not specified | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Purity Products Vegan Omega 3 6 9 Formula Essential Fatty Acid Complex | ![]() | Best for a Broad Fatty-Acid Blend | Serving size: 1 softgel | Omega-3: 500 mg | Omega-6: 180 mg | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Nature’s Bounty Omega-3 Plant-Based Omega-3 Fatty Acid Supplement, 30 Softgels | ![]() | Best for a Straightforward Algae-Based Daily Dose | Quantity: 30 softgels | Omega-3 per softgel: 300 mg | EPA and DHA: Yes; individual amounts not specified in supplied data | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Vegan Omega 3 EPA DHA ALA Supplements with CoQ10, Vitamin D3 & K2 for Women and Men | ![]() | Best for a Multi-Nutrient Formula | Omega-3 content: 1,500 mg | DHA: 800 mg | EPA: 400 mg | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Purity Products Omega 3-6-9, 5 in 1 Vegan and Vegetarian Formula | ![]() | Best for a Multi-Oil Vegetarian Blend | Formulation: Vegan and vegetarian | Blend: Omega-3, omega-6, and omega-9 | Named fatty acids: EPA, DHA, GLA, and oleic acid | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amandean Vegan Omega-3 Supplement, Algal Oil DHA EPA Softgels, 120 Count | ![]() | Best for a Larger Algae-Oil Supply | Source: Marine algal oil | Key ingredients: DHA and EPA | Form: Softgels | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| vegan omega-3 supplement | Serving size |
|---|---|
| Vegan Omega 3 Supplement | 1 softgel |
| Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega | 3 softgels |
| Vegan Omega 3 Algae Oil Supple | 3 softgels |
| Freshfield Vegan Omega-3 Algae | 1–2 softgels |
| Vegan Omega 3 Supplement | 2 vegan capsules |
| Vegan Omega 3 Algae Oil | — |
| Vegan Omega 3 Supplement | — |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil | Not specified |
| Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 | — |
| Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 | Not specified |
| Purity Products Vegan Omega 3 | 1 softgel |
| Nature’s Bounty Omega-3 Plant- | — |
| Vegan Omega 3 EPA DHA ALA Supp | 1 softgel |
| Purity Products Omega 3-6-9 | — |
| Amandean Vegan Omega-3 Supplem | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Vegan Omega 3 Supplement – Plant-Based DHA & EPA Fatty Acids – Carrageenan Free – Supports Heart, Brain, and Joint Health – 60 Softgels
I’d put this option near the top for buyers who want a clear DHA-and-EPA dose without a multi-capsule serving. Each softgel supplies 550 mg of omega-3s, including 300 mg DHA and 150 mg EPA, while the algae is grown in the United States. That one-softgel serving is simpler than Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega 3, which calls for three softgels, though Micro Ingredients provides more DHA per serving and a larger bottle. A peppermint scent is intended to limit fishy odors, and the bottle’s tree-planting contribution gives it an added environmental angle. The tradeoff is the 60-softgel count, which offers less supply than the 120- and 240-count options here. Buyers sensitive to algae-derived products should also check suitability before choosing it.
Pros:- Provides 300 mg DHA and 150 mg EPA in each one-softgel serving.
- Uses algae grown in the United States rather than fish oil.
- Peppermint scent is intended to reduce fishy odors.
- Includes a one-tree-planted-per-bottle sustainability commitment.
Cons:- The 60-softgel bottle has fewer capsules than the 120- and 240-count alternatives.
- Algae oil may have a distinct taste for some users.
- Not a suitable choice for people allergic to algae.
Best for: Vegans who want a defined DHA-and-EPA dose in one softgel rather than a three-softgel serving.
Not ideal for: People seeking a large-count bottle, or anyone with an algae sensitivity.
- Serving size:1 softgel
- Total omega-3s:550 mg per serving
- DHA:300 mg per serving
- EPA:150 mg per serving
- Bottle count:60 softgels
- Source:Algae grown in the United States
- Sustainability:One tree planted per bottle
- Certifications:GMP Certified; FDA Registered
Our verdict“Choose this if a one-softgel algae-based DHA-and-EPA serving matters more than a high capsule count.”
Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega 3 Algae Oil Softgels (240 Count)
Micro Ingredients suits buyers who prioritize a large bottle and a formula that adds DPA and ALA alongside DHA. A serving provides 500 mg DHA and 100 mg DPA, plus flaxseed oil and 40 mg ALA; that wider listed mix contrasts with Freshfield Vegan Omega-3, whose supplied specs focus on DHA and DPA per softgel. Its 240 softgels mean fewer bottle replacements than the 60-count option from Product 1, but the serving requires three softgels, so the higher count does not translate into a one-capsule routine. Lemon flavor and third-party lab testing are useful details for shoppers concerned about aftertaste and product checks. Those avoiding softgels altogether, or looking for a simpler serving, may prefer another pick.
Pros:- Lists DHA, DPA, and ALA, with flaxseed oil included in the formula.
- The 240-softgel bottle provides a larger count than the other products in this batch.
- Lemon flavor is intended to help limit fishy aftertaste.
- Third-party lab tested and free from soy, gluten, dairy, and carrageenan.
Cons:- Requires three softgels per serving.
- The listed serving includes 500 mg DHA and 100 mg DPA, but no EPA amount is provided.
- Softgel format may not suit buyers who prefer a different capsule type.
Best for: Regular vegan supplement users who want a 240-count bottle and a formula listing DHA, DPA, and ALA.
Not ideal for: People who dislike taking several softgels per serving or prefer a one-softgel routine.
- Bottle count:240 veggie softgels
- Serving size:3 softgels
- Algal oil:1,250 mg per serving
- DHA:500 mg per serving
- DPA:100 mg per serving
- Flaxseed oil:80 mg per serving
- ALA:40 mg per serving
- Flavor and testing:Lemon; third-party lab tested
- Dietary attributes:Vegan, non-GMO, soy-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, carrageenan-free
Our verdict“Pick Micro Ingredients if bottle count and its DHA-DPA-ALA formula outweigh the inconvenience of three softgels per serving.”
Vegan Omega 3 Algae Oil Supplement, 120 Veggie Softgels
This 120-softgel option offers the same listed serving amounts as Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega 3: 500 mg DHA, 100 mg DPA, and 40 mg ALA, with 1,250 mg algal oil and flaxseed oil. Its main distinction is scale: 120 softgels make 40 servings at three softgels each, while Micro Ingredients supplies 240 softgels of a similar formula. That makes this a more modest bottle choice, not a lower-pill-burden one. The lemon flavor and exclusions of fish, carrageenan, soy, dairy, and gluten may appeal to buyers checking ingredient restrictions. The tradeoffs are the three-softgel serving and flavor that may not suit everyone. The supplied information does not specify an EPA amount, so shoppers seeking a stated EPA dose should compare labels carefully.
Pros:- Provides DHA, DPA, and ALA in the same serving.
- The 120-softgel bottle supplies 40 servings.
- Free from fish, carrageenan, soy, dairy, and gluten.
- Lemon flavor is intended to reduce fishy aftertaste.
Cons:- Each serving requires three softgels.
- Micro Ingredients offers a similar listed formula in a larger 240-softgel bottle.
- No EPA amount is specified in the provided product details.
Best for: Vegans wanting a 40-serving bottle with listed DHA, DPA, and ALA who do not mind taking three softgels at a time.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want fewer capsules per serving, a larger bottle, or a stated EPA quantity.
- Bottle count:120 veggie softgels
- Servings:40
- Serving size:3 softgels
- Algal oil:1,250 mg per serving
- DHA:500 mg per serving
- DPA:100 mg per serving
- Flaxseed oil and ALA:80 mg flaxseed oil and 40 mg ALA per serving
- Flavor:Lemon
- Dietary attributes:Vegan, non-GMO, gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free
Our verdict“Choose this for a 40-serving bottle with a broad listed omega-3 profile, but skip it if three softgels per serving is inconvenient.”
Freshfield Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil – Plant-Based DHA Supplement, Fish Oil Free, Lemon Scent
Freshfield stands apart from the products with fixed three-softgel servings: its directions allow one to two softgels, giving buyers more flexibility in how they follow the label. Each softgel lists 225 mg DHA and 35 mg DPA, so the amount scales with the serving rather than arriving as a single stated total. That per-softgel breakdown is clearer than Product 5’s combined 510 mg EPA/DHA/DPA figure, which does not separate the individual amounts. Freshfield also points to plastic-free packaging and ocean-plastic recovery efforts, making packaging a meaningful differentiator in this lineup. The compromises are a subtle marine aroma that may bother scent-sensitive users and the lack of a stated EPA amount in the supplied specs. Buyers wanting a large count or detailed EPA breakdown should compare labels before choosing.
Pros:- Flexible serving guidance of one to two softgels.
- Lists DHA and DPA amounts per softgel.
- Uses microalgae and is fish-oil free.
- Plastic-free packaging and ocean-plastic recovery efforts are noted.
Cons:- A subtle marine aroma may be off-putting for scent-sensitive users.
- The provided specs do not state an EPA amount.
- Bottle count is not specified in the supplied product details.
Best for: Environmentally minded vegans who prefer a one-to-two-softgel serving and value plastic-free packaging.
Not ideal for: Shoppers who need a stated EPA dose, dislike marine aromas, or want a clearly specified high-count bottle.
- Source:Microalgae
- DHA:225 mg per softgel
- DPA:35 mg per softgel
- Serving size:1–2 softgels
- Bottle supply:Listed as a 1- to 2-month supply
- Packaging:Plastic-free bottle
- Flavor or scent:Lemon scent
Our verdict“Freshfield is a good match for buyers who value flexible dosing and lower-waste packaging more than a specified EPA dose or bottle count.”
Vegan Omega 3 Supplement, Algae Oil, EPA DHA – 120 Count
Product 5 takes a simpler approach than the DHA-DPA-ALA blends from Micro Ingredients and Product 3: it focuses on a combined 510 mg of EPA, DHA, and DPA per two-capsule serving, without a separate ALA amount. That may suit buyers who want a stated combined omega-3 figure rather than a longer ingredient list, though the supplied specs do not show how much of the total comes from each fatty acid. The 120-capsule bottle is listed as a 60-day supply, a straightforward format compared with Micro Ingredients’ three-softgel serving. It is algae-derived, non-GMO, allergen-free, and made in the USA. Its main drawbacks are the two-capsule serving, potentially large capsules, and lack of a listed ALA amount or individual EPA and DHA breakdown.
Pros:- Provides 510 mg combined EPA, DHA, and DPA per serving.
- Algae-derived and fish-free.
- The 120-capsule bottle is listed as a 60-day supply.
- Non-GMO, allergen-free, and produced in the USA.
Cons:- Requires two capsules per serving.
- The supplied specs do not separate the EPA, DHA, and DPA amounts.
- No ALA amount is listed, and capsules may be large for some users.
Best for: Vegans seeking a 60-day algae-based supplement with a combined EPA/DHA/DPA amount and no need for listed ALA.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need separate EPA and DHA quantities, want ALA included, or have difficulty swallowing larger capsules.
- Serving size:2 vegan capsules
- Total EPA/DHA/DPA:510 mg per serving
- Bottle count:120 capsules
- Supply duration:60 days
- Source:Algae oil
- Dietary attributes:Non-GMO and allergen-free
- Made in:USA
Our verdict“Choose this if a two-capsule, 60-day algae-based routine fits your needs and a combined omega-3 total is enough detail.”
Vegan Omega 3 Algae Oil, Plant Based DHA EPA, Sustainably Sourced, Non-GMO
This option suits buyers who want a fish-free source of both DHA and EPA alongside several stated production standards. It is listed as third-party tested, GMP certified, non-GMO, gluten-free, and carrageenan-free, giving it a clearer quality profile than the sparsely documented Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil, Plant-Based DHA EPA, Sustainably Sourced, Non-GMO (B0DJMZMZDC). The tradeoff is that the supplied details do not give an omega-3 amount, DHA-to-EPA breakdown, or capsule count, so I can’t compare its potency or serving value with Sapling Omega-3’s stated 550 mg per serving or the concentrated Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3. Mild digestive discomfort is also possible, and algae oil may not suit every stomach. I’d choose it for its stated testing and dietary exclusions, not for dose transparency.
Pros:- Algae-derived, fish-free source of DHA and EPA
- Third-party testing is stated
- Non-GMO, gluten-free, and carrageenan-free
- GMP certified and manufactured in the USA
Cons:- Omega-3, DHA, and EPA amounts per serving are not provided
- Capsule count and serving details are not provided
- May cause mild digestive discomfort
Best for: Vegan shoppers who prioritize stated third-party testing and gluten- and carrageenan-free formulation over a clearly listed dose.
Not ideal for: Dose-focused buyers who need to compare DHA and EPA amounts per serving, or shoppers who want a listed capsule count before choosing.
- Omega-3 source:Algae
- DHA and EPA:Both included; amounts not specified
- GMO status:Non-GMO
- Gluten-free:Yes
- Carrageenan-free:Yes
- GMP certified:Yes
- Testing:Third-party tested
- Country of manufacture:USA
Our verdict“Choose this if quality and dietary exclusions matter more to you than having a transparent dose and serving count.”
Vegan Omega 3 Supplement – Plant Based DHA & EPA Fatty Acids – Carrageenan Free, Algae-Based, Supports Heart, Brain, Joint Health – 180 Softgels
Sapling stands out for buyers who want the dose spelled out: each serving lists 550 mg of omega-3s, including 300 mg DHA and 150 mg EPA. That makes it easier to judge against Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil, which lists 1,020 mg of omega-3s but does not specify a serving size in the supplied data. Sapling also gives a 180-softgel count and uses algae grown in the United States, making its supply details more concrete than the minimal listing for B0DJMZMZDC. Peppermint oil is intended to avoid the typical fishy impression, though it adds a scent that may not appeal to everyone. The listed serving count does not clarify how many softgels make a serving, and allergen and additional-ingredient details are limited.
Pros:- Lists 550 mg total omega-3s per serving
- Specifies 300 mg DHA and 150 mg EPA per serving
- 180 softgels per container
- Algae source and U.S. origin are stated; carrageenan-free
Cons:- Number of softgels per serving is not provided
- Peppermint scent may not suit people who prefer unscented supplements
- Limited details are provided about other ingredients and allergens
Best for: Buyers who want a stated DHA/EPA breakdown and a larger softgel bottle for a regular supplement routine.
Not ideal for: People who prefer scent-free capsules or need complete allergen and serving-size details before buying.
- Omega-3 source:Algae
- Omega-3 content:550 mg per serving
- DHA:300 mg per serving
- EPA:150 mg per serving
- Count:180 softgels
- Scent:Peppermint oil
- Country of origin:United States
- Certifications:GMP certified; FDA registered
Our verdict“Pick Sapling if a disclosed DHA/EPA breakdown and 180-softgel count matter more than a fully detailed ingredient and serving profile.”
Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil, Plant-Based DHA EPA, Sustainably Sourced, Non-GMO
This is the simplest-described option in this group: the listing identifies a sustainable algae source, plant-based DHA and EPA, and non-GMO status, but leaves out dose, capsule count, and testing details. That makes it a less informative choice than Sapling Omega-3, which lists its DHA and EPA amounts, or Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3, which states a combined EPA+DHA amount and a 60-softgel count. The sparse information may appeal to shoppers who only need a basic algae-oil product description, but it gives dose-conscious buyers little basis for comparing daily intake. Taste or odor may also be an issue, with no flavor or odor-control details supplied. I’d treat this as a straightforward concept with limited buying information, not as a potency-led pick.
Pros:- Plant-based algae source of DHA and EPA
- Sustainable sourcing is stated
- Non-GMO
- Simple product positioning without a stated blend of additional nutrients
Cons:- No omega-3, DHA, or EPA amount is provided
- Capsule count and serving size are not listed
- No testing, flavor, or odor-control details are supplied
Best for: Shoppers seeking a basic non-GMO, algae-based vegan omega-3 and who are comfortable verifying the dose and serving details separately.
Not ideal for: Dose-conscious buyers or anyone who wants capsule count, testing, and flavor details clearly stated in the product information.
- Omega-3 source:Algae oil
- DHA and EPA:Both included; amounts not specified
- Sourcing:Sustainably sourced
- GMO status:Non-GMO
- Diet type:Plant-based
- Omega-3 amount:Not specified
- Serving size:Not specified
- Count:Not specified
Our verdict“Consider it only if a basic algae-based formula is enough and you can confirm the dose and serving information before choosing.”
Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3, Algae-Based – 1210mg EPA+DHA – 60 Soft Gels
Nordic Naturals is the clearest potency-led pick here, listing 1,210 mg of combined EPA and DHA per serving. That disclosed total gives shoppers a stronger basis for comparing concentrated omega-3 options than the unquantified listings for B0FH2XGB6T and B0DJMZMZDC. It also lists a 60-softgel count and identifies vegan, non-GMO, gluten-free, and dairy-free attributes, with third-party purity testing stated in the description. The limitation is that the supplied information does not break the combined amount into separate EPA and DHA figures or specify how many softgels make a serving. Compared with Sapling’s lower stated total and more detailed DHA/EPA split, Nordic Naturals favors a larger combined figure over a more granular breakdown. It is a strong match for buyers who prioritize concentration and can confirm the serving details.
Pros:- Lists 1,210 mg combined EPA and DHA per serving
- Algae-based and vegan
- Non-GMO, gluten-free, and dairy-free
- Third-party purity testing is stated
Cons:- Separate EPA and DHA amounts are not provided
- Serving size in softgels is not specified
- Contains 60 softgels, fewer than Sapling’s listed 180-softgel bottle
Best for: Vegan shoppers seeking a stated high combined EPA+DHA amount and who are comfortable checking the serving-size details.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need separate EPA and DHA amounts or a clearly stated softgel count per serving to plan intake.
- Omega-3 source:Algae
- EPA+DHA:1,210 mg per serving
- Count:60 softgels
- Diet type:Vegan
- GMO status:Non-GMO
- Gluten-free:Yes
- Dairy-free:Yes
- Testing:Third-party tested for purity
Our verdict“Choose Nordic Naturals if a high stated combined EPA+DHA amount is your priority and you do not need a separate fatty-acid breakdown.”
Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil 1020mg, 60 Count Plantgels
Sports Research is a good fit for shoppers who want algae oil in a plant-based tapioca softgel, rather than a gelatin capsule. The listing gives a 60-plantgel count and states 1,020 mg of omega-3s per serving, a more informative potency figure than the dose-free B0DJMZMZDC listing. It also identifies vegan certification, non-GMO verification, and freedom from fillers, gelatin, and carrageenan. Against Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3, however, Sports Research lists total omega-3s rather than a combined EPA+DHA amount, so buyers cannot directly compare its dose of those two fatty acids from the supplied details. The serving size is also unspecified, which makes the 1,020 mg figure harder to interpret. This pick prioritizes capsule material and a stated total over a full dosing breakdown.
Pros:- Plant-based tapioca softgels, with 60 plantgels per container
- Lists 1,020 mg omega-3s per serving
- Vegan certified and non-GMO verified
- Free from gelatin, carrageenan, and fillers
Cons:- Serving size is not specified
- Separate DHA and EPA amounts are not provided
- The listed total omega-3 amount cannot be directly compared with Nordic Naturals’ stated EPA+DHA amount
Best for: Vegan buyers who specifically want plant-based tapioca softgels and a stated total omega-3 amount.
Not ideal for: Shoppers who need a clearly stated serving size or exact DHA and EPA amounts for comparing daily intake.
- Omega-3 source:Algae oil
- Omega-3 content:1,020 mg per serving
- Serving size:Not specified
- Count:60 plantgels
- Softgel material:Plant-based tapioca
- Certifications:Vegan certified; Non-GMO verified
- Allergens:None listed
- Formulation exclusions:No gelatin, carrageenan, or fillers
Our verdict“Choose Sports Research if plant-based softgel material matters most, but look elsewhere if you need a clearly defined EPA/DHA dose.”
Purity Products Vegan Omega 3 6 9 Formula Essential Fatty Acid Complex
I’d choose this formula when the goal is a mix of plant oils rather than a focused algae-derived EPA-and-DHA supplement. One softgel supplies 500 mg of omega-3 alongside omega-6 and omega-9 from flaxseed, olive, borage, pomegranate, and sacha inchi oils. That variety sets it apart from Nature’s Bounty Omega-3, which uses algae oil and identifies EPA and DHA, making it a more direct fit for shoppers seeking those specific omega-3s. The listed LemonLock freshness system and absence of fish aftertaste may also appeal to people avoiding fish oil. The tradeoff is that the combined oil profile may not suit everyone, particularly buyers sensitive to seed oils, and the provided specs don’t state EPA or DHA amounts. I’d skip it if those figures are your main selection criterion.
Pros:- Vegan blend includes flaxseed, olive, borage, pomegranate, and sacha inchi oils.
- Provides omega-3, omega-6, and omega-9 in one softgel.
- LemonLock freshness technology is specified.
- Avoids fish oil and its characteristic aftertaste.
Cons:- The supplied specs do not list EPA or DHA amounts.
- Several seed and plant oils may not suit people with relevant allergies or dietary restrictions.
Best for: Shoppers who want a vegan softgel combining omega-3, omega-6, and omega-9 from several plant oils.
Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing a stated EPA-and-DHA dose, or anyone avoiding seed oils or multi-oil blends.
- Serving size:1 softgel
- Omega-3:500 mg
- Omega-6:180 mg
- Omega-9:680 mg
- Oil sources:Flaxseed, extra virgin olive, borage, pomegranate, and sacha inchi seed oils
- Freshness technology:LemonLock
- Dietary suitability:Vegan
Our verdict“Pick this if you want a multi-oil omega 3-6-9 blend; choose an algae product such as Nature’s Bounty if specified EPA and DHA matter more.”
Nature’s Bounty Omega-3 Plant-Based Omega-3 Fatty Acid Supplement, 30 Softgels
This is the clearer choice for someone who wants an algae-sourced omega-3 and a stated EPA-and-DHA presence without adding a broader 3-6-9 oil blend. Each softgel contains 300 mg of omega-3, and the algae source makes it a direct plant-based alternative to fish oil. Compared with Purity Products Vegan Omega 3 6 9, Nature’s Bounty is more focused on algae oil and EPA/DHA, while Purity lists a wider mix of plant oils but no EPA or DHA amounts in the supplied specs. The main limitation is the 30-softgel bottle, which means a shorter supply than Amandean’s 120-count option. The provided information also doesn’t break out the individual EPA and DHA quantities, so buyers who need a specific amount of either should check the label before choosing.
Pros:- Uses algae oil rather than fish oil.
- EPA and DHA are identified in the product information.
- Provides 300 mg of omega-3 per softgel.
- Convenient softgel format for a daily supplement routine.
Cons:- The bottle contains only 30 softgels.
- The supplied specs do not state separate EPA and DHA quantities.
Best for: Vegan shoppers seeking a simple algae-oil softgel with EPA and DHA and a modest bottle size.
Not ideal for: Buyers looking for a long-lasting bottle or precise, separately stated EPA and DHA amounts.
- Quantity:30 softgels
- Omega-3 per softgel:300 mg
- EPA and DHA:Yes; individual amounts not specified in supplied data
- Source:Algae oil
- Dietary suitability:Vegan
- Form:Softgel
Our verdict“Choose this for a straightforward algae-based softgel, but compare the label and bottle count if you need specific EPA/DHA amounts or a longer supply.”
Vegan Omega 3 EPA DHA ALA Supplements with CoQ10, Vitamin D3 & K2 for Women and Men
This formula suits buyers who want omega-3s bundled with other nutrients, not shoppers seeking the simplest algae oil. Its stated amounts—800 mg DHA, 400 mg EPA, and 210 mg ALA—make the fatty-acid profile more explicit than the supplied specs for Purity Products’ 3-6-9 blend. It also adds vitamin D3, K2, and CoQ10, offering a combined supplement approach that Nature’s Bounty does not claim. That breadth comes with a real tradeoff: the listed 5,000 IU of vitamin D3 may not suit people already supplementing vitamin D or following clinician guidance, and the softgel may be hard to swallow for some. I’d compare the added nutrients against your existing routine rather than treating more ingredients as an automatic advantage.
Pros:- Lists amounts for DHA, EPA, and ALA.
- Combines omega-3s with vitamin D3, vitamin K2, and CoQ10.
- Description identifies algae and flaxseed oil sources.
- Free from several listed allergens and artificial additives.
Cons:- The listed 5,000 IU of vitamin D3 may not fit every supplement routine.
- Softgels may be difficult to swallow.
- Added nutrients make it less suitable for shoppers seeking a minimal formula.
Best for: Adults who want a vegan omega-3 softgel with stated DHA, EPA, and ALA amounts plus D3, K2, and CoQ10.
Not ideal for: People who need a simple omega-3-only supplement, avoid high-dose vitamin D3, or have difficulty swallowing softgels.
- Omega-3 content:1,500 mg
- DHA:800 mg
- EPA:400 mg
- ALA:210 mg
- Vitamin D3:5,000 IU
- Vitamin K2:100 mcg
- Other added nutrient:CoQ10
- Serving size:1 softgel
- Duration:Two months
Our verdict“Choose this if you want stated EPA and DHA amounts plus added nutrients in one softgel, but skip it if you need to limit vitamin D or prefer a simple formula.”
Purity Products Omega 3-6-9, 5 in 1 Vegan and Vegetarian Formula
I’d place this pick with shoppers who specifically want several plant oils in one vegetarian-friendly formula. Its blend names EPA, DHA, GLA, and oleic acid, drawing on flaxseed, olive, borage, pomegranate, and sacha inchi oils. That makes it a broader oil blend than Nature’s Bounty Omega-3, which is algae-based and more directly framed around omega-3. The LemonLock freshness system and stated third-party certification, cGMP compliance, and FDA-inspected manufacturing offer additional product details, though they don’t replace dose information. The supplied data gives no individual EPA or DHA quantities, so I wouldn’t pick it to target a specific amount of either. Compared with the closely related Purity Products 3-6-9 formula in this lineup, the listed oil sources overlap substantially; the main distinction here is its 5-in-1 positioning.
Pros:- Combines oils from flaxseed, olive, borage, pomegranate, and sacha inchi.
- Names EPA, DHA, GLA, and oleic acid in its blend description.
- Uses the LemonLock freshness system.
- Product data lists third-party certification and cGMP compliance.
Cons:- The supplied specs do not provide individual EPA or DHA amounts.
- The multi-oil blend may not fit people avoiding particular seed or plant oils.
- Its 3-6-9 focus is less targeted than an algae product centered on omega-3.
Best for: Vegans and vegetarians who prefer a multi-oil formula listing several fatty-acid types rather than algae oil alone.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need quantified EPA and DHA amounts or who avoid blends containing multiple seed and plant oils.
- Formulation:Vegan and vegetarian
- Blend:Omega-3, omega-6, and omega-9
- Named fatty acids:EPA, DHA, GLA, and oleic acid
- Oil sources:Flaxseed, extra virgin olive, borage, pomegranate, and sacha inchi oils
- Freshness system:LemonLock
- Manufacturing and certification details:FDA-inspected, cGMP compliant, and third-party certified
Our verdict“Pick this for a plant-oil blend with several named fatty acids, but choose a quantified algae option if specific EPA or DHA intake is your priority.”
Amandean Vegan Omega-3 Supplement, Algal Oil DHA EPA Softgels, 120 Count
Amandean stands out for buyers who want a larger bottle of algae-derived DHA and EPA without a fish-based source. The 120-count supply is four times the 30-softgel count listed for Nature’s Bounty, making it a more practical fit for people who prefer fewer repeat purchases. Its description also specifies natural triglyceride form and tapioca-based softgels, while calling out non-GMO and carrageenan-free formulation. That gives it a different appeal from Purity Products’ multi-oil blends, which combine omega fatty acids from several plant oils rather than focusing on algal oil. The limitation is that the supplied specs don’t state the amount of DHA, EPA, or total omega-3 per serving. I’d check the label before choosing it over options that provide clearer dose figures.
Pros:- Uses marine algae as its omega-3 source.
- 120 softgels provide a larger bottle count than Nature’s Bounty’s 30-softgel bottle.
- Description specifies natural triglyceride form and tapioca-based softgels.
- Listed as vegan, non-GMO, and carrageenan-free, with USA-grown algae.
Cons:- The supplied specs do not state DHA, EPA, or total omega-3 amounts.
- The product description makes broad health-support claims without providing dose details in the supplied data.
Best for: Vegan shoppers who want a 120-count algae-oil softgel bottle and prefer a fish-free source.
Not ideal for: Dose-focused buyers who need stated DHA, EPA, or total omega-3 amounts before selecting a supplement.
- Source:Marine algal oil
- Key ingredients:DHA and EPA
- Form:Softgels
- Count:120
- Dietary information:Vegan, non-GMO, and carrageenan-free
- Softgel material:Tapioca-based
- Oil form:Natural triglyceride form
- Origin:USA-grown algae
Our verdict“Choose Amandean for a larger-count, fish-free algae-oil bottle, but compare dose labels if you need specific DHA or EPA amounts.”

How We Picked
I ranked these products around the details that help buyers compare vegan omega-3 formulas: whether the source is algae, how clearly EPA and DHA amounts are disclosed, serving size, bottle count, and the presence of added ingredients. A clearly stated EPA+DHA amount is more useful than a broad omega-3 claim because it lets shoppers compare the fatty acids they are actually seeking. I also considered how straightforward the formula is to understand and whether the product appears suited to a focused daily supplement routine.
Ranking reflects available product information, not personal testing. Products with specific EPA+DHA figures rank ahead of listings whose titles do not provide comparable potency details; that does not prove the latter contain less, only that buyers need to verify their labels. Bottle count can improve convenience, but it cannot substitute for per-serving potency. Formulas that add other oils, vitamins, or nutrients can suit narrower preferences, yet rank below focused algae-oil options for shoppers primarily seeking DHA and EPA.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Vegan Omega-3 Supplements
Before choosing among vegan omega-3 supplements, I would check the label details that product names often leave out. These broader comparisons can prevent a mismatch between the formula you want and the one you actually buy.
Compare EPA and DHA, Not Just Total Omega-3
Look for separate amounts of DHA and EPA in the Supplement Facts panel, then add them if you want to compare combined EPA+DHA. A headline amount may refer to total oil rather than the amount of these specific fatty acids. Products that do not publish those figures in their listing are not automatically weak, but they are harder to compare until you inspect the label. Avoid treating a large softgel count as a potency claim. If your clinician has recommended a particular intake, match the label to that advice rather than selecting a product by its marketing language.
Check the Algae Source and Formulation
For a vegan product, confirm that the omega-3 source is algae-derived and check that the capsule and other ingredients suit your dietary needs. “Plant-based” can be used broadly, while algae oil is a direct source of DHA and, in some formulas, EPA. Some plant oils mainly provide ALA, a different omega-3 that the body converts to DHA and EPA only to a limited extent. A formula with ALA can still fit a particular diet, but it is not interchangeable with an algae product labeled with DHA and EPA amounts. Review the full ingredient list if you avoid specific carriers, capsule materials, or additives.
Translate Serving Size Into Routine
Compare the daily serving directions, not just the number of softgels in the bottle. A large bottle can last less time than expected if the suggested serving uses several capsules, while a smaller bottle may be adequate for a one-softgel routine. Capsule size and how often you need to take them can affect whether a supplement fits your habits. If swallowing pills is a concern, check the serving format and ask the manufacturer about capsule dimensions rather than guessing from bottle count. Choose a schedule you can follow consistently, within the product directions and any advice from your clinician.
Decide Whether Added Ingredients Help
Some options combine omega-3 with omega-6, omega-9, CoQ10, or vitamins D3 and K2. These additions may be useful if you specifically want a multi-ingredient formula, but they can make it harder to compare the omega-3 dose on its own. Added nutrients also deserve a separate check for dose, dietary fit, and overlap with supplements you already take. A focused algae-oil product is often simpler when the goal is DHA and EPA alone. Do not pay attention to a longer ingredient list as a substitute for clear EPA and DHA quantities.
Treat Bottle Count as Convenience, Not Value by Itself
A higher capsule count can reduce how often you reorder, but count is not the same as servings or daily omega-3 intake. Check how many capsules make one serving and the amount of EPA and DHA per serving before comparing package sizes. Storage instructions and best-by dates also matter, especially if a bottle contains more than you can use within its labeled period. If you are trying a formula for the first time, a smaller bottle can limit commitment; if you already know it suits you, a larger count may be more convenient. Make the comparison using servings and labeled potency, not capsule totals alone.
Check Compatibility Before Adding a Supplement
Omega-3 supplements can be a poor fit for some people, including those with allergies to listed ingredients or those managing a medical condition or medication. Ask a healthcare professional before starting if you use medication that affects blood clotting, are pregnant or breastfeeding, or have been told to monitor supplement intake. This is especially relevant for combo formulas, where added vitamins or other compounds create more potential overlap with your routine. Share the Supplement Facts panel rather than relying on the product name. A clinician can help you decide whether a supplement is appropriate and what amount fits your circumstances.
Frequently Asked Questions
How can I tell whether a vegan omega-3 product provides enough DHA and EPA for my needs?
Start with the amount of DHA and EPA per serving on the Supplement Facts panel, not the total oil weight or capsule count. There is no single amount that fits every person or purpose, so match the label to guidance from your healthcare professional if you have a specific target. In this roundup, Nordic Naturals and Sports Research state combined EPA+DHA amounts in their product names, while several other listings need closer label checking for a direct comparison. Also confirm how many softgels make up the serving. If the label does not clearly state DHA and EPA, contact the manufacturer before choosing based on a headline claim.
Is algae oil a better choice than a plant-based omega-3 that lists ALA?
They provide different omega-3 fatty acids: algae oil can supply DHA and EPA, while many seed and plant oils provide ALA. The body can convert some ALA into DHA and EPA, but conversion is limited and varies. If you specifically want DHA or EPA from a vegan source, check that those amounts appear on the label and consider an algae-based product. An ALA-focused supplement may still suit someone seeking that fatty acid, but it should not be assumed to offer the same DHA and EPA intake. Your dietary pattern and health needs can help determine which type makes sense.
Should I choose a high-count bottle if its EPA and DHA amounts are not clear?
Not on bottle count alone. A product with many softgels may require multiple capsules per serving, and the count does not show how much DHA and EPA you get each day. First check the serving directions, then locate the individual fatty-acid amounts in the Supplement Facts panel. In this lineup, Micro Ingredients stands out for its 240-count bottle, but buyers should still confirm per-serving potency before comparing it with the named high-strength options. If the label leaves the amounts unclear, ask the manufacturer or choose a product with more transparent labeling.
Do I need a vegan omega-3 formula with CoQ10 or vitamins D3 and K2?
Only if those added ingredients fit a need you have and their doses make sense alongside your current routine. A combo product can reduce the number of separate supplements, but it can also introduce unwanted overlap or make the omega-3 amount less obvious. Check whether the D3 and K2 sources fit your dietary requirements, and compare their amounts with any other supplements you take. If your main goal is DHA and EPA, a focused algae-oil formula is usually easier to evaluate. Ask a healthcare professional before combining nutrients or changing a supplement routine for a medical reason.
What should I do if a vegan omega-3 supplement causes an unpleasant aftertaste or does not suit me?
First check the label for suggested use and storage directions, then stop taking the product if you have a concerning reaction. Formulas differ in capsule design, added flavor or scent, and other ingredients, so another product may suit your preferences better. This roundup includes a lemon-scented option, but a scent claim does not guarantee that everyone will find it comfortable. Review the full ingredient list for potential sensitivities, and contact a healthcare professional if symptoms persist or are severe. Do not take more than the labeled serving to compensate for discomfort or missed doses.
Conclusion
For a clear starting point, I would choose Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 as best overall because it states 1,210 mg EPA+DHA. Micro Ingredients is my best value-style pick for buyers who prioritize a high bottle count, provided its label matches their desired serving; Sports Research is a strong premium-minded choice for shoppers comparing a stated 1,020 mg EPA+DHA formula. For beginners, I would favor a straightforward algae-oil product with clear serving directions and disclosed DHA and EPA amounts over a multi-ingredient blend. If you specifically want added nutrients or omega-6 and omega-9, the combo formulas may better match your needs, but check each added dose and the full label. My final decision rule is simple: choose by verified DHA and EPA per serving first, routine and ingredients second, and bottle count last.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.















