Vegan omega-3 supplements vary widely in their algae-derived DHA and EPA amounts, serving sizes, and added fatty acids, so the label matters more than the capsule count. My best overall pick is Nordic Naturals Algae Omega 715mg for shoppers who want a clearly named EPA-and-DHA formula, while Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 stands out for a higher stated oil amount and Micro Ingredients for its 240-count bottle. The main tradeoff is between a formula with clearly specified omega-3s and a larger or broader blend that may offer less detail about the EPA/DHA serving. Check the supplement facts panel and serving directions before comparing products. Read on for the full breakdown and guidance by buyer type.
Get health and wellness essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- EPA and DHA detail separates the clearest options: Several listings name both fatty acids, while products described mainly by total oil or an omega 3-6-9 blend may require closer label checking.
- Nordic Naturals offers two distinct choices: Its 715 mg listing suits shoppers comparing a defined EPA/DHA amount, while the 1,210 mg EPA + DHA listing is aimed at buyers prioritizing a higher stated combined amount.
- Micro Ingredients and Amandean emphasize larger counts: Their 240- and 120-count bottles may suit shoppers seeking fewer restocks, but count alone does not reveal how much EPA and DHA each serving provides.
- Some formulas add features beyond a basic algae-oil capsule: NatureBell lists lemon flavor, Freshfield lists a lemon scent and DHA plus DPA, and Purity Products offers omega 3-6-9 blends; these differences matter only if they match a buyer’s preference.
- Product names do not always give enough information to compare potency: Listings such as “Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with DHA and EPA” need a close look at the supplement facts for per-serving EPA, DHA, and serving size.
| Purity Products Vegan Omega 3-6-9 Supplement | ![]() | Best Multi-Oil Blend | Formula: Plant-based omega 3-6-9 blend | Oil sources: Flaxseed, extra virgin olive, borage, pomegranate, and sacha inchi seed oils | Freshness system: LemonLock antioxidant complex | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil Softgels, 240 Count | ![]() | Best High-Capacity Pick | Count: 240 vegetarian softgels | Serving size: 3 softgels | Algal oil per serving: 1,250 mg | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| New Chapter Vegan Algae Oil Omega-3 Complex, 30 Softgels | ![]() | Best for a Simple Algae-Based Formula | Form: Softgels | Count: 30 | Source: Domestically grown microalgae | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| NatureBell Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil Supplement, 120 Vegetarian Softgels, Lemon Flavor | ![]() | Best for Allergen-Aware Buyers | Quantity: 120 vegetarian softgels | Serving size: 3 softgels | Algal oil per serving: 1,250 mg | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with DHA and EPA | ![]() | Best Compact, Quantified DHA/EPA Option | Source: Algae oil | Omega-3 per serving: 550 mg | DHA and EPA per serving: 450 mg combined | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Nature’s Bounty Plant-Based Omega-3 Softgels, 30 Count | ![]() | Best for a Simple Daily Routine | Form: Softgels | Count: 30 | Source: Algae oil | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Nordic Naturals Algae Omega 715mg Vegan EPA DHA Plant-Based 60 Count | ![]() | Best for Purity Documentation | Source: Microalgae | Total EPA + DHA per serving: 715 mg | Servings per bottle: 60 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Freshfield Vegan Algae Oil Omega-3 DHA and DPA Supplement, Lemon Scent | ![]() | Best for a Specialized Softgel | Source: Microalgae | DHA per softgel: 225 mg | DPA per softgel: 35 mg | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil, 1020 mg, 60 Plantgels | ![]() | Best for a High Total Omega-3 Amount | Source: Algae oil | Omega-3 per serving: 1,020 mg | Count: 60 plantgels | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Carlyle Vegan Omega-3 Supplement, 1290 mg, 60 Softgels | ![]() | Best for Allergen Avoidance | Total strength: 1,290 mg | Omega-3 per softgel: 250 mg | Count: 60 softgels | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Sapling Vegan Omega-3 Supplement with DHA and EPA, 60 Softgels | ![]() | Best for a Clearly Stated DHA/EPA Dose | Source: Algae | Omega-3s per serving: 550 mg | DHA per serving: 300 mg | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with DHA and EPA | ![]() | Best for Third-Party Testing and Dietary Filters | Source: Microalgae | Omega-3 types: DHA and EPA | Algae origin: USA-grown | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 Algae-Based Soft Gels, 1,210 mg EPA + DHA, 60 Count | ![]() | Best for a High Listed EPA + DHA Amount | Source: Algae | EPA + DHA: 1,210 mg | Form: Soft gels | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amandean Vegan Omega-3 Algal Oil Softgels, 120 Count | ![]() | Best for a Larger Bottle and Tapioca-Based Capsules | Count: 120 softgels | Source: Marine algae | Omega-3 types: DHA and EPA | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Purity Products Vegan Omega 3-6-9 Essential Fatty Acid Complex | ![]() | Best for a Multi-Oil Omega Blend | Form: Vegetarian softgels | Dietary type: Vegan | Ingredients: Flaxseed oil, extra virgin olive oil, borage oil, pomegranate oil, sacha inchi seed oil | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| vegan omega 3 supplement | Source | Count | Testing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Purity Products Vegan Omega 3- | — | — | — |
| Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega- | — | 240 vegetarian softgels | Third-party lab tested, according to the product description |
| New Chapter Vegan Algae Oil Om | Domestically grown microalgae | 30 | — |
| NatureBell Vegan Omega-3 Algae | — | — | Third-party lab tested |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with D | Algae oil | — | Third-party tested |
| Nature’s Bounty Plant-Based Om | Algae oil | 30 | — |
| Nordic Naturals Algae Omega 71 | Microalgae | — | Third-party tested for purity and freshness |
| Freshfield Vegan Algae Oil Ome | Microalgae | — | — |
| Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 | Algae oil | 60 plantgels | Third-party tested |
| Carlyle Vegan Omega-3 Suppleme | — | 60 softgels | Laboratory tested |
| Sapling Vegan Omega-3 Suppleme | Algae | 60 | — |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with D | Microalgae | — | Third-party tested |
| Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 | Algae | 60 | Third-party tested |
| Amandean Vegan Omega-3 Algal O | Marine algae | 120 softgels | — |
| Purity Products Vegan Omega 3- | — | — | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Purity Products Vegan Omega 3-6-9 Supplement
This is the broadest plant-oil blend in this group, combining flaxseed and sacha inchi with olive, borage, and pomegranate oils. That makes it a different choice from New Chapter Vegan Algae Oil Omega-3 Complex, which focuses on algal DHA and EPA rather than a mix of omega 3-6-9 sources. The LemonLock antioxidant system is intended to help protect freshness, and the product is made in third-party-certified, cGMP-compliant facilities. The tradeoff is limited dose transparency: the available details do not give a serving size or amounts of individual fatty acids, including EPA and DHA. I’d choose it for oil-source variety, not for a clearly quantified DHA or EPA target; buyers who want to compare specific active amounts have better-documented options elsewhere in this roundup.
Pros:- Combines five plant-sourced oils in one formula
- Vegan and vegetarian
- Includes a LemonLock antioxidant freshness system
- Made in third-party-certified, cGMP-compliant facilities
Cons:- No serving size or dosage details are provided
- EPA and DHA amounts are not specified
Best for: Buyers who specifically want a vegan blend of several seed and plant oils rather than a supplement centered on quantified algal DHA and EPA.
Not ideal for: People tracking a specific DHA or EPA intake, since individual fatty-acid amounts and serving details are not provided.
- Formula:Plant-based omega 3-6-9 blend
- Oil sources:Flaxseed, extra virgin olive, borage, pomegranate, and sacha inchi seed oils
- Freshness system:LemonLock antioxidant complex
- Dietary attributes:Vegan and vegetarian
- Manufacturing:FDA-inspected facilities
- Quality standards:Third-party certified and cGMP-compliant
Our verdict“Choose this for variety across plant oils, but pick a quantified algae-oil formula if you need a known DHA or EPA dose.”
Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil Softgels, 240 Count
The 240-softgel count makes this a practical choice for buyers who want a larger supply, while its stated serving of three softgels delivers 500 mg DHA and 100 mg DPA. It also includes flaxseed oil and ALA, so the formula spans algal and seed-derived omega-3 sources. Compared with NatureBell Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil Supplement, the listed fatty-acid amounts and three-softgel serving are the same; the main distinction here is the large count and Micro Ingredients branding, not a higher stated dose. Lemon flavor and exclusions such as soy, dairy, and gluten may suit people avoiding those ingredients. The key tradeoff is the three-softgel serving, which may feel cumbersome, and the blend is not suited to someone seeking an algae-only formula.
Pros:- Provides 500 mg DHA and 100 mg DPA per three-softgel serving
- Includes flaxseed oil and ALA alongside algal oil
- Lemon flavor is intended to reduce fishy aftertaste
- Carrageenan-free and made without several listed allergens and additives
Cons:- Serving size is three softgels
- Combines multiple oils, which may not suit buyers seeking a single-source formula
Best for: Buyers who want a 240-softgel supply with disclosed DHA and DPA amounts and are comfortable taking three softgels per serving.
Not ideal for: People who prefer a one-softgel routine or want to avoid formulas that combine algal and flaxseed oils.
- Count:240 vegetarian softgels
- Serving size:3 softgels
- Algal oil per serving:1,250 mg
- DHA per serving:500 mg
- DPA per serving:100 mg
- Flaxseed oil and ALA per serving:80 mg flaxseed oil; 40 mg ALA
- Flavor:Lemon
- Dietary features:Vegan, fish-free, carrageenan-free, non-GMO; made without soy, dairy, gluten, preservatives, colors, or tree nuts
- Testing:Third-party lab tested, according to the product description
Our verdict“Pick Micro Ingredients for a large-count supply with disclosed DHA and DPA, provided three softgels per serving work for you.”
New Chapter Vegan Algae Oil Omega-3 Complex, 30 Softgels
New Chapter keeps the source story focused: its omega-3s come from domestically grown microalgae, with DHA and EPA named as the featured nutrients. That contrasts with Purity Products Vegan Omega 3-6-9 Supplement, which combines five plant oils but does not specify DHA or EPA amounts. For buyers who want an algae-based, fish-free option without a seed-oil blend, this is the clearer conceptual fit. The product is described as designed for bioavailability and is gluten-free, but the supplied details do not state the DHA or EPA dose, serving size, or more specific testing information. Its 30-softgel count is also a smaller stated supply than the 120- and 240-count options from NatureBell and Micro Ingredients. I’d favor it for a straightforward algae source, not for dose comparison or high-capacity stocking.
Pros:- Uses domestically grown microalgae as its source
- Names both DHA and EPA
- Vegan, vegetarian, fish-free, and gluten-free
- Offers an alternative to multi-oil formulas such as Purity Products
Cons:- DHA and EPA amounts per serving are not specified
- Serving size is not provided
- The 30-softgel count is lower than the stated counts for NatureBell and Micro Ingredients
Best for: Buyers who want a fish-free, microalgae-sourced DHA-and-EPA formula and prefer a short ingredient-source description.
Not ideal for: People comparing exact DHA or EPA intake, or looking for a larger softgel supply, because dose and serving details are not provided and the pack contains 30 softgels.
- Form:Softgels
- Count:30
- Source:Domestically grown microalgae
- Nutrients:DHA and EPA
- Dietary features:Vegan, vegetarian, fish-free, and gluten-free
- Bioavailability:Described as designed for bioavailability
- Intended support:Heart, brain, eye, and joint health
Our verdict“Choose New Chapter for a focused microalgae-based formula, but look elsewhere if you need quantified DHA and EPA amounts.”
NatureBell Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil Supplement, 120 Vegetarian Softgels, Lemon Flavor
NatureBell spells out a broad set of ingredient exclusions, including soy, dairy, gluten, preservatives, colors, and tree nuts, while offering a lemon-flavored, fish-free blend. Its stated three-softgel serving provides 500 mg DHA, 100 mg DPA, and 40 mg ALA. Those figures match the supplied amounts for Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil Softgels, so the choice between them is less about the listed fatty-acid profile and more about pack count and buyer preferences: NatureBell supplies 120 softgels, compared with Micro Ingredients’ 240. Third-party lab testing is also stated in the product details. The main compromise is a three-softgel serving, and the product carries a standard disclaimer that it is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent disease. Buyers seeking a one-a-day routine should compare serving instructions before choosing.
Pros:- Provides 500 mg DHA, 100 mg DPA, and 40 mg ALA per three-softgel serving
- Fish-free, vegan-friendly, and carrageenan-free
- Made without soy, dairy, gluten, preservatives, colors, or tree nuts
- Third-party lab tested, according to the product details
Cons:- Serving size is three softgels
- The product includes a disclaimer that it is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent disease
Best for: Buyers avoiding several common allergens and additives who want disclosed DHA, DPA, and ALA amounts in a lemon-flavored formula.
Not ideal for: People who want fewer softgels per serving or a longer stated supply, since the serving is three softgels and the pack contains 120.
- Quantity:120 vegetarian softgels
- Serving size:3 softgels
- Algal oil per serving:1,250 mg
- DHA and DPA per serving:500 mg DHA; 100 mg DPA
- Flaxseed oil and ALA per serving:80 mg flaxseed oil; 40 mg ALA
- Flavor:Lemon
- Dietary features:Vegan-friendly, fish-free, carrageenan-free, non-GMO
- Free from:Soy, dairy, gluten, preservatives, colors, and tree nuts
- Testing:Third-party lab tested
Our verdict“NatureBell suits allergen-aware buyers who want a disclosed mixed-source omega-3 profile and can manage a three-softgel serving.”
Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with DHA and EPA
This algae-oil option gives a concise dose statement: 550 mg total omega-3s per serving, including 450 mg DHA and EPA. That makes it easier to evaluate than New Chapter Vegan Algae Oil Omega-3 Complex, whose supplied details name DHA and EPA but do not state their amounts. The formula is vegan, non-GMO, carrageenan-free, GMP-manufactured, and third-party tested, making its quality and dietary claims more specific than a basic source description. Its main limitation is the missing serving size and supply duration, so buyers cannot tell how many capsules deliver the stated amount or how long a container lasts. Unlike NatureBell and Micro Ingredients, no lemon flavor, DPA amount, or added flaxseed oil is listed. I’d choose it for a stated DHA/EPA total, while checking the full label before comparing daily routines.
Pros:- Lists 550 mg total omega-3s per serving
- Specifies 450 mg DHA and EPA per serving
- Third-party tested and GMP-manufactured
- Vegan, non-GMO, and carrageenan-free
Cons:- Serving size and supply duration are not specified
- The individual DHA and EPA amounts are not broken out
- No flavor or additional oil details are provided
Best for: Buyers who prioritize a stated DHA-and-EPA amount from algae and want third-party testing and GMP manufacturing listed.
Not ideal for: People who need to know capsule count per serving or supply duration before buying, since those details are not provided.
- Source:Algae oil
- Omega-3 per serving:550 mg
- DHA and EPA per serving:450 mg combined
- Dietary attributes:Vegan and non-GMO
- Carrageenan:Free
- Manufacturing:GMP-manufactured
- Testing:Third-party tested
- Serving size:Not specified
Our verdict“Pick this algae-oil formula if a stated combined DHA-and-EPA amount matters more than knowing the serving size or container duration.”
Nature’s Bounty Plant-Based Omega-3 Softgels, 30 Count
For a straightforward once-a-day option, Nature’s Bounty pairs 1,000 mg of algae oil with a stated 510 mg of EPA and DHA per softgel. That makes the daily serving easy to follow, and its EPA+DHA figure is more clearly specified than Sports Research Vegan Omega-3, whose supplied details give total omega-3 but not an EPA/DHA breakdown. Nature’s Bounty also suits shoppers who want a familiar softgel format rather than a specialized capsule shell.
The tradeoff is the 30-softgel bottle: it runs out sooner than Nordic Naturals Algae Omega’s 60-serving bottle, and the supplied information does not list testing or allergen details beyond vegan and vegetarian suitability. Choose it for a defined daily dose, not for a longer supply or extra quality credentials.
Pros:- Algae-based oil is suitable for vegan and vegetarian diets.
- Provides 510 mg of EPA and DHA per softgel.
- One-softgel daily suggested use is simple to follow.
- Provides 520 mg of omega-3 fatty acids per softgel.
Cons:- The 30-count bottle is a shorter supply than 60-count alternatives.
- The supplied product details do not state third-party testing or certifications.
Best for: Vegan shoppers who want one softgel daily and a clearly stated EPA-and-DHA amount.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a longer-lasting bottle or documented third-party testing and broader free-from details.
- Form:Softgels
- Count:30
- Source:Algae oil
- Algae oil per softgel:1,000 mg
- Omega-3 fatty acids per softgel:520 mg
- EPA and DHA per softgel:510 mg
- Suggested use:One softgel daily
- Suitable for:Vegans and vegetarians
Our verdict“Choose Nature’s Bounty if you want a clearly quantified, once-daily algae omega-3 and do not mind replacing a 30-count bottle more often.”
Nordic Naturals Algae Omega 715mg Vegan EPA DHA Plant-Based 60 Count
Nordic Naturals stands apart for buyers who prioritize quality checks and dietary certifications alongside a fish-free source. Each serving supplies 715 mg of EPA+DHA, and the formula is described as third-party tested, non-GMO, gluten-free, and dairy-free. Those details make its quality profile more explicit than Freshfield Vegan Algae Oil, whose certificate of analysis is available only on request.
The main tradeoff is that the supplied data does not identify the serving size in capsules or give an oil amount per capsule, so buyers comparing pill burden cannot judge that from these details. It also may cost more than conventional fish oil, though no price comparison is needed to see its distinct focus: documented testing and a 60-serving bottle, rather than the specialized tapioca shell of Freshfield or the one-softgel simplicity of Nature’s Bounty.
Pros:- Provides 715 mg of EPA and DHA per serving.
- Microalgae-derived and fish-free.
- Third-party tested for purity and freshness.
- Non-GMO, gluten-free, and dairy-free.
Cons:- The supplied details do not specify the number of capsules per serving.
- The supplied details do not state the algae oil amount per capsule.
Best for: Vegan shoppers who want a stated EPA+DHA amount, third-party purity testing, and clear dietary exclusions.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need capsule count per serving or a clearly stated softgel size before choosing.
- Source:Microalgae
- Total EPA + DHA per serving:715 mg
- Servings per bottle:60
- Dietary status:Vegan
- Testing:Third-party tested for purity and freshness
- Non-GMO:Yes
- Free from:Gluten and dairy
- Source type:Fish-free
Our verdict“Pick Nordic Naturals if testing credentials and a stated EPA+DHA serving matter more to you than capsule-level dosage detail.”
Freshfield Vegan Algae Oil Omega-3 DHA and DPA Supplement, Lemon Scent
Freshfield is the distinctive choice here for shoppers who want more than a standard algae-oil capsule. Each softgel provides 225 mg DHA and 35 mg DPA, and its shell is made from carrageenan-free tapioca. The hexane-free enzymatic extraction process is another specific formulation detail, setting it apart from Nature’s Bounty, which gives a higher stated EPA+DHA amount but does not list its softgel material or extraction method.
Freshfield’s flexibility of one to two softgels daily lets buyers adjust the routine, but the listed figures emphasize DHA and DPA rather than a full EPA+DHA total. A subtle marine aroma is also expected, and the certificate of analysis is available only by request, unlike Nordic Naturals’ stated third-party testing. This suits ingredient-focused buyers more than anyone seeking a fully transparent, at-a-glance testing record.
Pros:- Provides 225 mg DHA and 35 mg DPA per softgel.
- Uses carrageenan-free tapioca softgels.
- Made with a hexane-free enzymatic extraction process.
- Free from fish oil and described as avoiding common ocean contaminants such as mercury.
Cons:- A subtle marine aroma is normal.
- Certificate of analysis is available only on request.
- The supplied details do not state an EPA amount.
Best for: Vegan supplement shoppers who prefer tapioca softgels and want DHA and DPA amounts disclosed separately.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a stated EPA amount, no marine aroma, or easy access to a certificate of analysis.
- Source:Microalgae
- DHA per softgel:225 mg
- DPA per softgel:35 mg
- Softgel shell:Tapioca
- Free from:Fish oil and carrageenan
- Extraction process:Hexane-free enzymatic process
- Suggested use:1–2 softgels per day
- Manufactured:North America
Our verdict“Choose Freshfield if tapioca shell material and disclosed DHA/DPA amounts matter more to you than an EPA figure or readily available testing paperwork.”
Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil, 1020 mg, 60 Plantgels
Sports Research is the pick for shoppers prioritizing a high stated total omega-3 amount: the supplied data lists 1,020 mg per serving, plus 60 plantgels in a tapioca shell. It also combines Vegan Certified and Non-GMO Verified status with third-party testing, giving it a more credential-rich profile than Carlyle Vegan Omega-3, whose supplied data notes laboratory testing but not those certifications.
Its tradeoff is dose specificity: unlike Nature’s Bounty, which lists both omega-3 and EPA+DHA amounts per softgel, Sports Research does not break down the 1,020 mg into individual fatty acids in the provided information. The serving size is also not specified, so buyers cannot tell how many plantgels deliver that amount from these details. Its gelatin-free, carrageenan-free tapioca format is a plus for ingredient preferences, but the dosage details may be too limited for precision-focused shoppers.
Pros:- Lists 1,020 mg of omega-3 per serving.
- Uses plant-based tapioca softgels.
- Vegan Certified and Non-GMO Verified.
- Third-party tested and formulated without gelatin, carrageenan, corn starch, sorbitol, or fillers.
Cons:- The supplied information does not state how many plantgels make up a serving.
- The supplied information does not provide separate EPA and DHA amounts.
Best for: Vegan buyers who want a high stated total omega-3 amount, tapioca plantgels, and certification and testing details.
Not ideal for: Shoppers who need a per-softgel dose, serving-size clarity, or an EPA/DHA breakdown.
- Source:Algae oil
- Omega-3 per serving:1,020 mg
- Count:60 plantgels
- Softgel material:Plant-based tapioca
- Certifications:Non-GMO Verified; Vegan Certified
- Testing:Third-party tested
- Free from:Gelatin, carrageenan, corn starch, sorbitol, and fillers
Our verdict“Choose Sports Research if total omega-3 quantity and plant-based formulation credentials lead your priorities, but skip it if you need a precise EPA/DHA breakdown.”
Carlyle Vegan Omega-3 Supplement, 1290 mg, 60 Softgels
Carlyle makes the most sense for vegan buyers who are also checking several common dietary exclusions. Its algae-derived DHA comes in a formula listed as free of gluten, wheat, yeast, milk, lactose, and soy, as well as artificial flavors. Compared with Sports Research Vegan Omega-3, Carlyle provides a more detailed list of excluded allergens, while Sports Research gives a higher stated omega-3 amount per serving and names its tapioca plantgel material.
The key limitation is dosage clarity: each softgel is listed at 250 mg of omega-3, but the headline 1,290 mg total strength is not explained in the supplied details. That makes direct comparisons harder than with Nature’s Bounty, which provides per-softgel omega-3 and EPA+DHA figures. Carlyle offers 60 softgels and laboratory testing, but it is a less straightforward choice for buyers selecting by EPA/DHA potency.
Pros:- Uses algae oil as the DHA source.
- Lists 250 mg of omega-3 per softgel.
- Free of gluten, wheat, yeast, milk, lactose, soy, and artificial flavors.
- Laboratory tested and described as non-GMO.
Cons:- The 1,290 mg total strength is not explained in the supplied details.
- The supplied information does not state an EPA amount.
- The per-softgel omega-3 amount is lower than Nature’s Bounty’s stated 520 mg.
Best for: Vegan shoppers avoiding several listed allergens who want a 60-softgel bottle and laboratory-tested production.
Not ideal for: Buyers choosing primarily by EPA/DHA potency or seeking a clear explanation of the 1,290 mg strength claim.
- Total strength:1,290 mg
- Omega-3 per softgel:250 mg
- Count:60 softgels
- DHA source:Algae oil
- Dietary suitability:Vegan and vegetarian
- Free from:Gluten, wheat, yeast, milk, lactose, soy, and artificial flavors
- Non-GMO:Yes
- Testing:Laboratory tested
Our verdict“Carlyle suits buyers who value a broad allergen-exclusion list, but Nature’s Bounty is easier to compare if per-softgel omega-3 quantity is your priority.”
Sapling Vegan Omega-3 Supplement with DHA and EPA, 60 Softgels
I’d put Sapling near the top for shoppers who want to know exactly how much of each key omega-3 they’re getting: each serving supplies 300 mg DHA and 150 mg EPA, for 550 mg of omega-3s overall. That dose detail gives it an advantage over Amandean and the other Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with DHA and EPA in this lineup, whose supplied descriptions omit amounts. Its algae is grown in the United States, and the softgels come in a peppermint-scented pack intended to reduce fishy odors. The scent may be a plus for odor-sensitive buyers, though it could bother people who prefer unscented packaging. I also value the stated GMP-certified, FDA-registered bottling facility and tree-planting commitment, but those details don’t replace checking whether the dose matches your own needs.
Pros:- Lists 300 mg DHA and 150 mg EPA per serving.
- Uses algae sustainably grown in the United States.
- Peppermint-scented pack is designed to help reduce fishy odors.
- Bottled in a GMP-certified, FDA-registered facility, with one tree planted per bottle sold.
Cons:- The peppermint scent may not suit people who prefer unscented packaging.
- Its 450 mg combined DHA and EPA is lower than the 1,210 mg EPA-plus-DHA listed for Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 Algae-Based Soft Gels.
- The provided details do not state the serving size.
Best for: Vegan shoppers who want a specific DHA and EPA amount per serving and prefer U.S.-grown algae.
Not ideal for: Buyers who dislike peppermint scents or need a supplement with a higher stated EPA-plus-DHA amount.
- Source:Algae
- Omega-3s per serving:550 mg
- DHA per serving:300 mg
- EPA per serving:150 mg
- Form:Softgels
- Count:60
- Algae grown in:United States
- Bottling facility:GMP-certified and FDA-registered
Our verdict“Choose Sapling if a clearly disclosed DHA-and-EPA breakdown matters more to you than a higher listed combined dose.”
Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with DHA and EPA
This option suits shoppers who prioritize a fish-free DHA-and-EPA source alongside a broad set of dietary attributes. The product is described as vegan, non-GMO, gluten-free, and carrageenan-free, and it is third-party tested. Those details give it a different appeal from Sapling, which provides specific milligram amounts but does not list third-party testing in the supplied information. The tradeoff is a major one for dose-focused buyers: neither the serving size nor the amount of DHA or EPA is provided, so I can’t compare its potency with Sapling or Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 Algae-Based Soft Gels. Its USA-grown microalgae and GMP manufacturing add sourcing and production details, but the label information here is not enough to judge how much omega-3 a serving delivers.
Pros:- Provides DHA and EPA from fish-free microalgae.
- Described as third-party tested.
- Vegan, non-GMO, gluten-free, and carrageenan-free.
- Uses sustainably sourced microalgae grown in the USA.
Cons:- No serving size or DHA and EPA amounts are provided.
- The missing dose information makes potency difficult to compare with Sapling or Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 Algae-Based Soft Gels.
- The supplied description characterizes health benefits as potential support rather than providing evidence for specific outcomes.
Best for: Vegan shoppers who prioritize third-party testing and gluten-free, non-GMO, carrageenan-free attributes over a disclosed dose.
Not ideal for: Dose-conscious buyers who need stated DHA and EPA quantities to compare products or plan an intake.
- Source:Microalgae
- Omega-3 types:DHA and EPA
- Algae origin:USA-grown
- Dietary attributes:Vegan, non-GMO, gluten-free
- Carrageenan:Carrageenan-free
- Manufacturing:GMP-manufactured
- Testing:Third-party tested
Our verdict“Pick this if its testing and dietary attributes fit your priorities, but skip it if you need a clearly disclosed omega-3 dose.”
Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 Algae-Based Soft Gels, 1,210 mg EPA + DHA, 60 Count
Among these five options, Nordic Naturals stands out for its stated 1,210 mg of combined EPA and DHA, making it the clearest fit for shoppers seeking a substantial listed amount of both fatty acids. Unlike Amandean and the other Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with DHA and EPA, which don’t provide quantities in the supplied data, this product gives buyers a concrete figure to compare. It also specifies a triglyceride form and third-party testing, with non-GMO, gluten-free, and dairy-free attributes. The main limitation is missing dosage context: the supplied description does not say how many soft gels provide that amount or give instructions. Sapling is easier to interpret by serving, since it lists individual DHA and EPA quantities, so Nordic Naturals makes more sense for shoppers comfortable checking the full label before choosing a routine.
Pros:- Lists 1,210 mg of combined EPA and DHA.
- Uses algae-derived, preformed EPA and DHA in triglyceride form.
- Third-party tested for purity and freshness.
- Non-GMO, gluten-free, dairy-free, and free of artificial colors and flavors.
Cons:- The supplied details do not state serving size or dosage instructions.
- The combined EPA-and-DHA figure does not show the individual amount of each fatty acid.
- Shoppers seeking a simple per-serving comparison may find Sapling’s separate DHA and EPA amounts easier to interpret.
Best for: Vegan shoppers who want a high stated combined EPA-and-DHA amount and value third-party testing.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need serving-size and dosage instructions clearly stated in the product details before comparing options.
- Source:Algae
- EPA + DHA:1,210 mg
- Form:Soft gels
- Count:60
- Omega-3 form:Triglyceride
- Dietary features:Non-GMO, gluten-free, dairy-free
- Testing:Third-party tested
- Artificial colors and flavors:None
Our verdict“Choose Nordic Naturals if its high listed combined EPA-and-DHA amount appeals to you and you can verify the serving instructions on the label.”
Amandean Vegan Omega-3 Algal Oil Softgels, 120 Count
Amandean’s clearest advantage is its 120-softgel bottle, twice the count of Sapling and Nordic Naturals in this group. It also uses tapioca-based, carrageenan-free capsules, a useful point of distinction for shoppers who check capsule ingredients as carefully as the oil source. Its DHA and EPA come from non-GMO marine algae grown in the USA, in natural triglyceride form, and the product is described as tested for purity and safety. The tradeoff is that no DHA, EPA, or total omega-3 amount per serving is supplied, so a larger bottle doesn’t tell you how much omega-3 each softgel delivers or how it compares on dose. Sapling is the more transparent pick for amounts; I’d favor Amandean when capsule composition and bottle count matter more.
Pros:- Provides DHA and EPA from non-GMO marine algae grown in the USA.
- 120 softgels offer a higher capsule count than Sapling or Nordic Naturals.
- Tapioca-based capsules are carrageenan-free.
- Uses natural triglyceride-form omega-3 and is described as tested for purity and safety.
Cons:- The supplied details do not state DHA, EPA, or total omega-3 amounts per serving.
- A higher capsule count does not establish how much omega-3 the bottle provides overall.
- The description does not provide clinical evidence for health-benefit claims.
Best for: Vegan buyers who want a larger softgel count and prefer tapioca-based, carrageenan-free capsules.
Not ideal for: Shoppers comparing products by DHA or EPA dose, since the amounts per serving are not provided.
- Count:120 softgels
- Source:Marine algae
- Omega-3 types:DHA and EPA
- Capsule base:Tapioca
- Carrageenan:Carrageenan-free
- Non-GMO:Yes
- Algae origin:USA
- Omega-3 form:Natural triglyceride
Our verdict“Choose Amandean for its larger bottle and tapioca-based capsules, not if you need a disclosed DHA or EPA dose.”
Purity Products Vegan Omega 3-6-9 Essential Fatty Acid Complex
Most options here focus on algae-derived DHA and EPA; this Purity Products formula takes a broader route, combining five plant and seed oils to supply omega 3, 6, and 9. That makes it a distinct choice for shoppers looking for a mixed fatty-acid blend rather than a straightforward algae oil like Sapling or Nordic Naturals. The listed amounts are 500 mg omega 3, 180 mg omega 6, and 680 mg omega 9 per serving, with EPA, DHA, GLA, and oleic acid also named. LemonLock freshness technology is intended to help maintain freshness, and the vegetarian softgels are described as vegan. The compromise is that the serving size is unspecified, and the supplied details don’t clarify how much of the omega-3 total is EPA or DHA. I’d choose it for breadth, not targeted algae-derived DHA/EPA.
Pros:- Combines flaxseed, extra virgin olive, borage, pomegranate, and sacha inchi oils.
- Lists amounts for omega 3, omega 6, and omega 9 per serving.
- Includes EPA, DHA, GLA, and oleic acid among its fatty acids.
- Vegetarian softgels use LemonLock technology intended to help maintain freshness.
Cons:- The serving size is not specified in the supplied details.
- The amount of EPA and DHA within the 500 mg omega-3 figure is not provided.
- Its mixed omega 3-6-9 approach may not suit buyers seeking a focused algae-based DHA-and-EPA product like Sapling.
Best for: Vegan shoppers who want a blend of omega 3, 6, and 9 from several plant and seed oils rather than an algae-focused formula.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a clearly quantified algae-derived DHA and EPA dose, or who want a simple omega-3-only supplement.
- Form:Vegetarian softgels
- Dietary type:Vegan
- Ingredients:Flaxseed oil, extra virgin olive oil, borage oil, pomegranate oil, sacha inchi seed oil
- Omega 3 per serving:500 mg
- Omega 6 per serving:180 mg
- Omega 9 per serving:680 mg
- Additional fatty acids:EPA, DHA, GLA, oleic acid
- Freshness technology:LemonLock
Our verdict“Pick this if you specifically want several plant oils and omega 3, 6, and 9 in one blend, rather than a focused algae omega-3 supplement.”

How We Picked
I compared these 15 vegan omega-3 listings by the information most useful on a supplement label: whether the formula identifies algae as its source, whether it names DHA and EPA, how clearly it presents the amount per serving, and how many softgels the bottle contains. I also noted distinguishing details such as lemon flavor or scent, DPA, and added omega-6 or omega-9 fats. Those details affect fit, but they do not replace a clear EPA/DHA breakdown.
The ranking favors listings with specific, interpretable formula information and a distinct use case, then weighs serving format and bottle count as practical considerations. A larger total oil figure is not automatically a higher omega-3 dose, and products with similar or repeated generic names are difficult to distinguish without label details. Since the supplied product information does not establish independent testing, certifications, or full nutrient amounts for every item, I avoid treating those as proven advantages; buyers should confirm them on the current package.
| vegan omega 3 supplement | Testing | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Purity Products Vegan Omega 3- | — | — |
| Micro Ingredients Vegan Omega- | Third-party lab tested, according to the product description | — |
| New Chapter Vegan Algae Oil Om | — | Domestically grown microalgae |
| NatureBell Vegan Omega-3 Algae | Third-party lab tested | — |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with D | Third-party tested | Algae oil |
| Nature’s Bounty Plant-Based Om | — | Algae oil |
| Nordic Naturals Algae Omega 71 | Third-party tested for purity and freshness | Microalgae |
| Freshfield Vegan Algae Oil Ome | — | Microalgae |
| Sports Research Vegan Omega-3 | Third-party tested | Algae oil |
| Carlyle Vegan Omega-3 Suppleme | Laboratory tested | — |
| Sapling Vegan Omega-3 Suppleme | — | Algae |
| Vegan Omega-3 Algae Oil with D | Third-party tested | Microalgae |
| Nordic Naturals Vegan Omega-3 | Third-party tested | Algae |
| Amandean Vegan Omega-3 Algal O | — | Marine algae |
| Purity Products Vegan Omega 3- | — | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Vegan Omega 3 Supplements
When I compare vegan omega-3 supplements, I start with the fatty acids per serving rather than the headline oil amount. The points below help distinguish a concentrated formula from a large bottle or a broad blend, and help match a product to the reason you want to supplement.
Check EPA and DHA Separately
Algae oil can provide DHA, EPA, or both, and these amounts are more useful for comparison than a large number describing total oil. Read the supplement facts for the milligrams of each fatty acid per recommended serving, not just per capsule or per bottle. If a label lists only a combined EPA-plus-DHA figure, it still helps compare total omega-3 content, but it does not show the balance between the two. Avoid assuming that “1,000 mg” of algae oil means 1,000 mg of EPA and DHA. If you are following clinician guidance for a particular intake, compare the label against that guidance rather than choosing by product name.
Distinguish Algae Oil from Other Plant Omega-3 Sources
“Plant-based omega-3” can refer to different sources, and they do not all provide the same fatty acids. Algae oil is the direct source used in many vegan supplements that list DHA and EPA, while flax, chia, and similar oils are typically associated with ALA. The body can convert some ALA into longer-chain fatty acids, but conversion is limited and varies, so these options are not interchangeable for every buyer. Check the ingredient and facts panels to confirm the source instead of relying on a plant-based claim alone. This distinction is particularly useful when comparing a named algae formula with a broadly labeled plant-based product.
Compare Serving Size, Not Just Bottle Count
A 240-count bottle can last longer than a 30-count bottle, but only if the serving directions and daily capsule count fit your routine. Calculate how many days each bottle supplies at the label’s suggested serving, then compare the EPA and DHA delivered over that period. A smaller capsule count may still suit someone who prefers a short commitment or wants to assess tolerance before buying a larger supply. Conversely, a large bottle is less convenient if the formula requires several softgels per serving. Bottle count is a practical value measure, not a measure of potency.
Decide Whether a Blend Adds Anything You Need
Some products pair omega-3s with omega-6 or omega-9 fats, while others focus on algae-derived DHA and EPA. A 3-6-9 label may sound broader, but it does not tell you whether the product supplies a meaningful amount of the specific omega-3s you are seeking. Check the source and amount of each fatty acid, and avoid paying attention to the blend name alone. Added DPA or flavoring can be a useful distinction for some shoppers, but it should not distract from the core EPA/DHA figures. A simpler formula can be easier to compare if your main goal is supplementing those two fatty acids.
Use Flavor and Format as Routine Factors
Softgels are common in this group, but capsule size, taste, and any flavor or scent can affect whether a supplement fits your daily routine. Lemon-flavored or lemon-scented options may appeal to people who dislike a fishy aftertaste, though a flavor claim does not establish the product’s EPA/DHA amount or guarantee that it suits everyone. Look for serving directions and any storage instructions on the package, especially if you are buying a larger bottle. If swallowing capsules is difficult, confirm the product format before ordering rather than assuming all softgels are alike. Consistency with a suitable routine matters more than choosing extra features you will not use.
Pay More Attention to Verification When Labels Are Vague
Supplement labels can differ in how clearly they state the algae source, active fatty acids, serving amounts, and quality checks. If a listing leaves out these details, consult the manufacturer’s current label or product information before buying. Look for any stated testing or certification on the actual package and check what the claim covers; do not infer independent verification from a brand name or a general purity claim. A higher total-oil number or a long ingredient list is not a substitute for transparent serving data. Buyers with allergies, medication questions, or health conditions should review ingredients and ask a qualified clinician when appropriate.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I compare a product listing that gives total oil with one that states EPA and DHA?
Compare the milligrams of EPA and DHA shown in the supplement facts, not the total oil figure alone. Total oil can include fats other than the EPA and DHA you are trying to compare, so a larger headline number may not mean a larger active omega-3 serving. If a product lists only combined EPA and DHA, use that figure for a broad comparison and note that the individual balance is not given. Also check whether the amount applies to one capsule or a multi-capsule serving. If those details are missing, the listing does not provide enough information for a confident potency comparison.
Should I choose a DHA-only supplement or one that contains both DHA and EPA?
The better fit depends on why you want omega-3s and what your clinician or dietitian has recommended. DHA-only and combined DHA/EPA products are not identical, so compare the listed fatty acids rather than assuming one is universally better. If you have no specific intake target, choose based on a clear label and a formula that matches your preferences instead of the largest marketing number. People managing a health condition or taking medication should seek individual medical advice before using a supplement. The product name alone cannot determine which fatty-acid balance is right for you.
Does a 3-6-9 supplement provide more useful omega-3 than a focused algae-oil formula?
Not necessarily: “3-6-9” describes a mix of fatty-acid types, not the amount of EPA and DHA in a serving. A focused algae-oil product may be easier to evaluate if your specific aim is to supplement those long-chain omega-3s. Check the source and milligrams for each fatty acid on a 3-6-9 label before deciding that the broader blend offers an advantage. Also consider whether you already get other fats through your diet. Choose the blend only if its stated contents match your needs, not because the label lists more omega numbers.
Is a larger bottle a better choice if I am new to algae-based omega-3?
A larger count may mean fewer repeat orders, but it can be a poor first choice if you are unsure about capsule size, aftertaste, or tolerance. Check the serving directions first, since some bottles provide fewer days of use than the count suggests. A smaller bottle can be a practical way to see whether the format suits your routine before committing to a larger supply. Compare the daily EPA/DHA amount as well as the number of capsules, because count alone says little about what you receive. Follow the product label and ask a health professional if you have concerns about starting a supplement.
What should I verify before choosing between the two similarly named algae-oil listings?
For listings with generic or repeated names, use the actual package label rather than the title as your comparison source. Confirm the algae source, EPA and DHA per serving, serving size, other ingredients, and capsule count. Check whether the products are separate formulas or duplicate listings with incomplete descriptions; do not assume they differ based on small wording changes. If the manufacturer does not make the facts panel available, it is harder to judge potency and value against better-documented options. Ask the seller or manufacturer for clarification before purchase if a specific feature matters to you.
Conclusion
My best overall choice is Nordic Naturals Algae Omega 715mg for shoppers who want a listing that names EPA and DHA; the Nordic Naturals 1,210 mg option is a better match for those prioritizing a higher stated combined amount. For best value by bottle count, Micro Ingredients’ 240-count format is worth comparing, provided its per-serving EPA/DHA figures suit your needs. I would point beginners toward a clearly labeled formula in a manageable bottle, such as the 30-softgel New Chapter option, after checking its current supplement facts. For a premium-style pick, compare Nordic Naturals’ more explicitly stated formulas rather than paying extra for an unverified claim. Shoppers seeking a specific touch can look at NatureBell for lemon flavor or Freshfield for its listed DHA and DPA; for any option here, confirm the label before buying and choose based on your intended intake, not the product title alone.
Fall Picks

Theragun Mini 3rd Generation Massage Gun – Travel Essential (Black)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.















